Day 3


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Tianjin
July 16th 2014
Published: July 18th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Wednesday was my first day of lessons in Tianjin. We got up early to do kung fu outside in the sports pitches. First, Master Ling gave a performance and he was amazingly talented. We weren't as good at it but we have 10 days - hopefully we'll learn! This is Master Ling, he's pretty awesome.

Then we had 2 classes in the morning - calligraphy and mandarin. Calligraphy was fun, we got some pictures and I think I'm going to present my work at the closing ceremony. We also had mask making which was good fun because we got the opportunity to be quite artistic. They are masks that are used for the chinese opera - the way the mask is drawn reveals something about the character. My character was apparently brave because the mask was blue. Here's my mask and a picture of my hands which got covered in paint. Just to prove my dedication!

At night we played football with some Americans which was really fun - I was team USA and we 'sucked' and lost 6-1 but it was a good laugh! Later on we played cards and chatted with them - a good wee night. I am loving china so far and can't wait to learn more, meet more people, and have some more fun!

Erin Duffy and Sophie Coghill, South Lanarkshire, 16th of July


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0238s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb