Hiking and such


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Tianjin
July 1st 2009
Published: July 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

We have a long weekend coming up, so this weekend three other people and I are leaving Tianjin to go hiking in Shandong. I'm really excited to get out of the city, but I ran into trouble when I went shopping for more suitable shoes today. As it turns out, my feet are half a size bigger than the biggest women's size that is commonly available in China. My feet are a US size 8.5, but the largest shoe size available in most women's shoe departments is an 8. I was even chased out of one woman's shoe store! She just starting pointing at my feet and yelling (in Chinese), "Too big! You can't fit into our shoes!! Go!" Wow, it was intense. I didn't even know what to say to that. It's funny now, but I was really angry at the time. It's amazing how rude Chinese people can be. The checks and balances that exist in American public policy just do not exist here.

So anyhow, about that hiking trip, I'm really excited about it, but I don't really know more details. We have some ideas as to what we're going to do after we finish hiking, but nothing is written in stone as of yet. I think we're gonna wing it. I'll update you more when I get back!

Aaaaand, I just plain need to update more. Sorry!

Advertisement



1st July 2009

shoes
hahahahahahahahahaha....maybe she thought you would be like GODZILLA and crush the place with your HUGE feet!!!!!!....hahahahahahahahaha....haha...too funny!!!

Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0406s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb