Yizhar Cohen in Kangding


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Sichuan
April 24th 2006
Published: April 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Just got into Kangding after an 8 hour bus ride from Chengdu. Culturally, this is where China ends and Tibet begins. The first sign of culture I encountered here was not what I expected.

I got off the bus and started walking to find a hotel. While walking, I heard something. At first I was sure I was hearing wrong. When I got closer, there was no doubt. Someone was playing (quite loudly) "Aba Nibi Obo Hebe". When I got closer I noticed that in a small plaza about 30 people where folk dancing to the song. Surreal doesn't begin to describe the sensation of seeing a bunch of Chinese people in Kanding, the end of the world, dancing to Israel's 1977 Eurovision song contest winner.

Apart from that, I went to the Lonely Planet "recommended" hostel. Disappointing again. When the LP describes a hostel as "delightful" be afraid. Be very afraid. In this case, the beds where planks (which weren't even flat) covered with a few blankets. I got out of there, walked another 10 minutes and walked into a local hotel. After using the little Chinese that I know, I haggled them down to a room for 40rmb ($8). It even has a real mattress and a private bathroom with hot water!!! ;-)

Cheers,
Yair.


Advertisement



29th May 2006

I'm surprised at you... Don't you know that Yizhar Cohen is a Mispar Chazak in China-Tibet. He's bigger than Buddha over there. At least the chinese can respect his cultural influence on the civilization.....

Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 16; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0591s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb