jam packed weekend


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Sichuan » Chengdu
September 25th 2006
Published: September 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post


I had a totally jam packed weekend this weekend and one of my most bizzarest.

It started off pretty normal hanging out with Iona, Charlotte and Daryl getting a Starbucks (yes I know, I know...they are an evil corporation but sometimes needs must), and doing a bit of shopping. All pretty normal still. Then Charlotte and I went bowling with one of Daryls students which again was pretty normal except we were the only ones in the place that were girls so it seemed until we saw one girl on one of the bowling teams. I think it was a tournament or something. Played some ping pong....I am pretty crap I have to say and played with a really cute cat. Again all pretty normal until we head to this Russian Theatre.

The Russian theatre was interesting but only like two of the performers were Russian and one of them looked pretty evil. The place was filled with work nights out and business men I think and one section of the show was the presenter saying nice things to them and downing drinks with them....I mean like a pitcher and several bottles of beer....he looked a bit drunk by the end of the night. I only know this because Daryl and Charlottes friend Steve was translating for us. Some interesting acts came on and then the last act was a lady boy act from Thailand....never expected to see that here, especially not one with diamonte bra's.

Saturday was less bizarre but I still participated in KTV which was surreal as most of it was in Chinese and all the English songs were Britney, Blue or some other horrendous options. It was our friend Kiki's birthday and it is the tradition in China for the birthday person to pay for everything which made us feel pretty bad. We then headed to dinner where I had the finest Peking Duck I have had, beats the stuff you get in the U.K anytime. We then headed to a Chengdu musical which was really impressive musically and stage wise but it was ruined by the English translation, it just confused me more. I think it was a love story bound in time that was fated for disaster, not quite sure though.

Ok so that was more normal than Friday but I was pretty busy and did stuff I don't normally do.

On Sunday I went to Jingli with Sarah a teacher friend from school which was nice. I will dedicated a full blog to that later. The only weird thing I did here was try duck leg. Put it this way I wouldn't recommend it. I need to either try stuff and not ask what it is or just not try stuff. People probably won't believe I used to be veggie. Put it this way I am reconsidering my decision to eat meat. It is all on the bone here which grosses me out.

Doubt this week will be as full as I have lots of teaching but I got paid so I might feel the need to spend some money. October holiday is soon upon us so planning that. We are thinking Songpan.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0408s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb