The Tears


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Sichuan » Chengdu
January 9th 2012
Published: January 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I leave in a few days, as anyone reading this is well aware. However, surprisingly I had not cried or freaked out at all since deciding to go on this China trip almost eight months ago.

That changed tonight.

I was sitting, covered by a warm blanket, with Nick and Eliot in my living room. I was trying to convince Eliot to see me off early (5 AM) before my flight. I told him that he should come, but that I was not sure if I would cry or not. Eliot bet me money that I would. He said he would bet me any amount of cash, and if I did not cry, and that he would double whatever I bid. I, being the strong (obstinent) individual that I am, told him that I would not cry.

Nick scoffed. He said he would lay a large sum of money down as a bet. I argued with them for a few minutes. The boys argued about how me crying because of movies was different/the same to me crying about leaving. Then Eliot piped up "But Taryn, you will be leaving your family, and you will be doing everything alone.

(Dramatic thought provoked echo) "You will be doing everything alone."

The moment he said it fat tears began welling up in my eyes. The boys were flabbergasted. They rushed around attempting to stop me from crying (and laughing in bemusement at my own pathetically dramatic tears). But to no avail. I wept. Eliot came over and gave me a peck on the cheek and soothed me like the amazing brother he is- by supplying me with Kleenex. Nick, flustered by my tears (however, relieved that they were not caused by him) tackled me and began repeating "You won't be alone! You won't be alone!"

The situation was so hilarious, and had sped out of control so quickly, that we were all giggling as I also sobbed into my tissue. It was the best way to freak out, sitting there in my pajamas in a warm living room, surrounded by comfort and love. It made me really think about how much I have, and about how much I will appreciate it when I will not have it so conveniently available. These are the lessons one is supposed to learn along the way, but if you have a brother (or a family) as affectionate and caring as mine, you don't even have to cross your doorstep.

Advertisement



9th January 2012

Thanks, Now I'm Crying
Oh, Taryn. Think of us as your fellow travelers like Lord of the Rings. We are your hobbits, though not always with you, always with you.
10th January 2012

Never Alone!
"Like!" A while back, I decided to banish FEAR and WORRY (names of two Demons, I think) from my life and live as POSITIVE as possible. It required me to rely on God more, simply take ONE step at a time, even though sometimes you can't see more than a few feet down the path. But when you *know* you are on the right path, fear is gone. And don't worry if you are on "THE" right path, as long as you know you're trying to do the right thing. God provides us with a CHOICE of MANY "right" paths each one with some amazing ADVENTURE to discover or LESSON to learn. God-speed, Taryn! we are blessed to have you in our lives. PS: Ask Nick about how I've always played Steven Curtiss Chapman's "Great Adventure" song (the full one with orchestra prelude) before as we rolled out the driveway to any big trip. In fact, I recommend you put it on your iPod and do the same thing on your way to the airport!
10th January 2012

Yep, I am crying too. You have a supportive family beyond Grand Rapids too (hint - US!) We love you and are excited about your adventure!

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0583s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb