Last Day in Chengdu, July 2011


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Sichuan » Chengdu
July 6th 2011
Published: July 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

It was a really busy day to day. I spent several hours with Zenkar Rinpoche and a curator of Tibetan collections from the Palace Museum in Beijing, a professor from the Sichuan University and several other people including the author of the Secret Temple book (Lukhang Temple) published 10 years ago. There were more than 14 of us for lunch. It was specially arranged and our host brought into his home a special chef of Sichuan cuisine. My god was it good! It was probably the best meal I have had in Chengdu on this trip and I have had many, many, excellent meals.

It has been a real pleasure spending time with Zenkar Rinpoche - he is such a source of knowledge and so helpful in so many ways.

I was invited to meet up with some of the people I spent six hours with earlier in the day. The plan was to meet at the Sheraton Hotel for dinner and to look at art images - but I cancelled. Instead I just spent a quiet evening with Kautse, my Chengdu host, eating freshly made noodles, packing for the morning and figuring out how to use the Ipad he bought for his elder brother in India.

I am all packed and ready to go. There is a car arranged for 6:30 in the morning. My flight is at 8:30. In Hong Kong I will have a few hours to spend before the flight to NY. I will do some editing on the Gesar essay and just relax a little. If I feel ambitious I will add some entries to the HAR News Page.

Chengdu, it is not good-bye, but rather, until next time.............


Advertisement



Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0874s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb