Pandas!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Sichuan » Chengdu
July 23rd 2005
Published: February 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

End of Sichuan

They say that one should visit Sichuan when old, rather than when you are young, because when you get there, you'll never want to leave. There was still so much of China to see, let alone the world, I had to, but one day, I shall return!!

I *LOVE* PANDASI *LOVE* PANDASI *LOVE* PANDAS

This was a pretty cool moment. In the great scheme of my life, I won\'t ever forget this one.
Pandas! China's national treasure, and about 30 of the precious creatures at the Chengdu Panda Reserve, which is where Anna and her family took me today.

People tend to forget (I know I did) that the black and white panda is technically the "Giant Panda" and there is a smaller, lesser known "Red Panda" too.
They're like a cross between inquisitive meerkats and.. cats!

I have definitely decided that they're my domestic pet of choice.
Haha, even more desirable than the siberian tiger, and far less likely to, i dunno... eat me.

The red pandas available for a cuddle and a picture for about 200Y, (a lot by local standards, under £20 to you)
but I was more interested in getting a picture with one of the giant pandas, before they die out, poor things.

So, here it is!
(And suffice to say that the hefty "donation" that was required for this shot has probably could have landed me a plaque on their wall)

But it was worth it.

*edit* ah, remember to check out the map to see where I am, at this point in my travels!



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

yay for the red pandas!yay for the red pandas!
yay for the red pandas!

awwww cute lil' red pandas! Check out those tails.. such a cute animals.
What shall I name him?What shall I name him?
What shall I name him?

How can you not fall in love with this guy? What should I name him? or her? Answers in the comment box please!
Yay for red pandas!Yay for red pandas!
Yay for red pandas!

awwww cute lil' red pandas! Check out those tails.. such cute animals. He looks like the kind of pet you could have a really deep conversation with too.
Lotus fieldsLotus fields
Lotus fields

The thing about lotuses is that they grow in fields of water, and where they do grow, they take over the whole landscape. Then there are the blossoms, glowing crystals hovering among the huge leafy fans.. it's really easy to see how buddhism (and hinduism, I think) singles out the lotus as symbolic of perfection.
LotusLotus
Lotus

Credit for this one goes to Anna's dad, who, predictably, is a fantastic photographer.


11th February 2006

great Photos and commentary
I really enjoyed your commentary and the pictures. It's great, that you can log your adventures for your friends and family. I'll be looking for your next entry. I will be teaching in China starting in June of 2006, and started to keep a blog myself. You are welcome to check out some of my thoughts and photos. www.Travelblog.org/Bloggers/Hans/ Sincerely, Hans Schneider Sincerely

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0607s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb