First full day in China


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Sichuan » Chengdu
August 15th 2005
Published: August 15th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Sunrise at 35000 ftSunrise at 35000 ftSunrise at 35000 ft

Sunrise in the East of the sky, in the Eastern hemisphere. For me it was a new day and a new world.
It’s been my first full day in China and I am not as culture-shocked as I thought I would have been. Probably it was because I spent the first half sleeping, and the second half shopping in westernised shopping centres. I slept quite well, even though it was a tad warm. It was warmer than I would have liked, but not uncomfortable. After lunch, We hit downtown Chengdu with Michelle’s sisters. Well they’re not exactly her sisters but her cousins, but cousins are referred to as brothers and sisters. I’m sure the one child policy makes lonely children look further a field for siblings. The shops seem quite western, with only a few subtle differences and one big difference. The subtle ones being the open-plan shopping centres, Chinese prices and Chinese fashion. The major differences are the in your face advertising and salesmanship. Giant slabs of Chinese characters extend out of the shop facades like giant hands in a bid to sweep in customers from the streets.
We then met up with a few of Michelle’s friends and had a very spicy bite to eat from the street, comprising of numerous vegetables and meats selected ourselves which were then fried with
Street AdvertisementsStreet AdvertisementsStreet Advertisements

Advertising Endeavors throw subtlety out the window...
copious amounts of spices. The result was delicious, but only due to an iced green tea, which made it bearable.
Now for the spiel about yesterday:
I arrived Shanghai airport yesterday morning after a pleasant but tiresome flight, and took a domestic flight to Chengdu, taking a couple of hours, a much more pleasant prospect than a 12 hour train journey. I arrived at Michelle’s home and was given an even warmer welcome than the hot and humid weather had given me. I was bombarded with food from all directions, but the food was very nice. Our after dinner game was Mah Jong, which I was taught how to play, and managed to do quite well, even winning a few games. I suppose I should mention I consulted Michelle’s mother about a few moves. Well most actually. Well to be frank, she told me exactly what to do for each move.
It was a game of quick thought and action, both of which were seriously lacking after the tiring flight, so after popping out for a quick stroll to buy a few things, I had a shower and went straight to bed. Until last night I had always taken sleep
A Street in ChengduA Street in ChengduA Street in Chengdu

You can just make out a pedestrian walkway above a main road. You can no doubt make out the dome atop another of Chengdu's high buildings'. Michelle believes it to be a cinema, but is not sure.
for granted.
Tomorrow we plan to see some of Chengdu’s back-streets. Where more authentic shops and houses can be found. Michelle’ sister has promised to treat us to “Hotpot” Chengdu’s most famous dish. It is very very spicy, and nothing like Lancashire hotpot. I am told it is very delicious, but it has to be good to beat its English namesake.




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Mini-MonumentMini-Monument
Mini-Monument

A mini-monument comemerating the completion of a new street in Chengdu. I meet one of the first Shoppers of the street
The Father of ChinaThe Father of China
The Father of China

A statue of Zhong Shan, seen as the father of china
Michelle's "sister" in the streetMichelle's "sister" in the street
Michelle's "sister" in the street

Michelle's "sister" in the street.


15th August 2005

Giant Microphone
Great photos, That giant microphone looks perfect for Skype.
24th August 2005

No Updates!!
No updates for 9 days Neil? Your fans are getting restless... You are obviously having too much fun if you don't have time to update.

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0365s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb