Huang Long (Yellow Dragon)


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Sichuan » Chengdu
July 16th 2005
Published: January 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Little JaccuzzisLittle JaccuzzisLittle Jaccuzzis

It was fascinating.. one of those natural phenomenon that just doesn't quite make sense, at first.. like hot springs : )
This mountain soars over 4000m above sea level and is named Yellow Dragon because of the yellow soil that runs in a winding dragon shape all the way down.

The BIZARRE chemical reaction that occurs on the ancient glacier runway causes these thousands of pools, that resemble the scales of the dragon.
Close up, each one's resemblance to a jaccuzzi bath is uncanny.

Oxygen tanks were sold to combat altitude sickness, which allegedly included symptoms of fainting, vomiting, and heart attacks and things but all Anna and I saw was a fat kid with a nosebleed.

Once again, the scenery was stunning and I loved it.

At the top, there were views of the neighbouring snow-capped mountains, which I didn't expect to see so close up this summer.
Truly awe-inspiring; I don't know if i'll ever actually climb one of those but it would definitely be a challenge.

*edit*
again, pics will be here soon, i promise.

*edit*
the pics are here! sorry for making you wait, guys.
enjoy ; )


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

immortalimmortal
immortal

It's so magical.. does anyone remember Disney's Fantasia? I felt out of place.. you know, being mortal and everything.
HeavenHeaven
Heaven

The water.. you can't see it very well in this picture but it runs clear as glass, in a shocking turqoise 'dragon' all the way down th valley.. to a place where I would love to stand, and breathe, every day.
LabourLabour
Labour

Although, if I ran this place, I wouldn't have people doing this all the way up. Those bottles of water are filled! Can you imagine how heavy that must be? Surely.. you could just get the tourists to do it for a discounted ticket or something? I'm sure the locals would appreciate actually being able to afford to look at what brings hundreds of people per day to see.
Free Oxygen!Free Oxygen!
Free Oxygen!

Haha, I know that Frederique's dad had something to say about this, if I remember correctly was it "water, air and false security"? I saw this sign and just thought of putting it here for you guys straight away. : )
hehehehe
hehe

I could try and suggest that this is commenting on the fundamental inertia of the universe, yin and yang, action and reaction... but it's just funny!
The view from heavenThe view from heaven
The view from heaven

Still can't believe I took this picture.. can't believe that there exists such a place in the world, and that I was in that place. You won't believe me, but these mountains can be seen from the place shown in the picture titled "Heaven". And yes, this one was from the aeroplane.


2nd August 2005

I'm still reading your blog....I envy you...quite considerably! I'm starting to get bored here...I doss about in the morning, go to work in the afternoon, sometimes go to the gym in evening, and trick with my friends at the weekends. No one's really around this summer!! I'm bored of my playstation, I want to do something productive, and how I wish I was travelling like you are! But I can't do that for the time being, so I have to do the next best thing which is read about other people's lives through the wonders of biographies!! Yes, this was Jamie here with a random pointless post, and so to make it a pointful post (as Helen would say), I miss you Dawei!!!!
17th August 2005

Pictures, Journals and general lack of Dawei
Hey man, guess you've been pretty busy or lacking internet. At the moment I am pretty much working full time (apart for the weekends). When you return from your adventure let me know whether you will be at home on a weekend and I'll come visit. Give me an email next time you get the chance.
23rd August 2005

Hey Buddie
Hey man, sorry I have added a comment in a while, been a bit busy. You look like your having fun! Wish I was there but my dog won't alow that (he still hasn't really forgiven me for NZ and Oz). Well take care man and bring me back an ancient artifact!

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0378s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb