Pandas get laid once a year...if they're lucky


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Sichuan » Chengdu
June 18th 2005
Published: June 19th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Classic Panda PoseClassic Panda PoseClassic Panda Pose

Here are a couple of younger pandas doing what they do best. Pretty much every panda in the park was doing just this. cute, but lazy SOBs
Here are the pictures from my trip to the Panda Reserve and Breeding ground. The tour was pretty cool, you get to hear the Chinese tourguides use words like "crap" when trying to describe the Pandas gastrointestinal functions. Also there are so few of these poor guys b/c in addition to a very picky bamboo taste, they only get it on like once a year. They tried to explain this away by saying that only a very small portion of the food intake is converted into chemical energy, thus they just don't have the spare pep for reproductive activities. These guys seriously eat all day long, that's all they do. Eat, sleep and "crap" as my tour guide put it. You can't tell me that they can't step it up and get it on maybe, let's say, twice a year. Where is that stud panda who is gonna save the whole race?


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Dude, get off your butt and get someDude, get off your butt and get some
Dude, get off your butt and get some

must be nice to wake up and only look forward to 14 hours of stuffing your face.
Rollin'Rollin'
Rollin'

One of the cubs was so engaged in kicking back and shoving bamboo in his mouth that he rolled all the way down the embankment. Did he climb back up? nope, he could still reach a steady supply of bamboo so he just layed down there and ate.
Ummm, excuse me sir? Mr. Panda?Ummm, excuse me sir? Mr. Panda?
Ummm, excuse me sir? Mr. Panda?

Hey buddy, look over here. It's me, the guy who paid good money to take a picture with you, not to watch you eat more. I already saw a bunch of that outside. Until early adulthood, these guys will eat apples but after a certain age it's strictly certain types of bamboo.
Man, where did you learn your mannersMan, where did you learn your manners
Man, where did you learn your manners

Hey Ching Ching, wipe your face. You've got some food on your chin chin.
I'll be damned...I'll be damned...
I'll be damned...

This panda has made a mockery of our photo shoot by sticking his tongue out at the last moment...


20th June 2005

your shoes....
Now I understand why everybody is staring at you. Your shoes are blinding Kusano. Seriously, try to blend. But really, keep the pictures and stories coming, they're awesome! :) -Amy
11th April 2006

nice blogs, I like the pandas. You're a funny guy. I'm Chinese, but even I love to make fun of my own kin.

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0686s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb