on the road to Datong


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanxi » Datong
November 12th 2010
Published: November 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I took the train from Beijing to Datong - I got a hard sleeper (basically a bunk in a six bunk room). The trip is 6 hours and 260 km long almost directly west of Beijing.
The day I left Beijing was brisk but relatively clear (pollution is a constant problem). The train was also pleasant. I'm sorry that I forgot to bring pictures of family and friends. I had a basic conversation with a middle aged woman who had the bottom bunk (I was in the middle bunk, so I either had to lay down the entire trip or ask to sit on the bottom bunk with her). She was shocked and saddened that I was alone, I think I also said that I was alone in life. For the Chinese, you are nothing if you are not connected to others.
She was kind enough to give me a moon cake when I complained of being hungry. I was waiting for the woman who brings around a cart of food. I forgot that if you complain of being hungry then the person you are speaking to will feel an responsibility to feed you. I'm not that fond of moon cakes, but they are treat and it would have been extremely impolite to refuse.
The scenery from the train was of dry yellow earth interspersed with low mountains. Farming is poor in this region, they grow alot of poor grade corn. I saw very few farm machines, mostly people working the fields by hand. They used donkeys or ox to carry the cut stalks of corn and to plow the fields. I once saw a swather with several people following behind. I understand that they chop up the corn stalks for animal feed.
When passing a village I saw a small backyard padlock housing a dozen pigs. It was right in the centre of the village!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 14; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0473s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb