It's Almost Moon Cake Time!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shandong
September 14th 2010
Published: September 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Moon Cake Season is Almost Here!Moon Cake Season is Almost Here!Moon Cake Season is Almost Here!

Me posing with a moon cake at the local Jusco in Weihai.
I've heard so much about the moon cakes from the other expats that I can hardly believe I'm actually going to experience moon cakes myself. To be honest, the other expats usually didn't actually eat the moon cakes, they just sort of re-gift them. After taking a taste of what I thought was a chocolate moon cake, I can't say that I blame them.

The chocolate moon cake I sampled, turned out to be some sort of bean paste. The Chinese love to put beans in their bakery products. I think it has something to do with the medicinal properties of some types of beans. Anyway, I was kind of leery about trying a piece of moon cake, but my friend assured me that there was no MSG in it, so now I'm willing to embrace moon cake season. Bring on the moon cakes!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.034s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0186s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb