Bad China Day


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shandong
December 10th 2005
Published: December 10th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I'm writing this post to tell you how much I hate China at this very moment.

I woke up this morning to an apartment with no power. No light. No heat (not unusual). No hot water. I can't boil water. I can't use my computer. I can't watch DVD's (not the end of the world). I can't do laundry. And all of the food in our fridge is bad. So it's 645 AM and I put myself together by flashlight. Out the door and my landlord meets me on my way out and demands the "property maintenance" fee. For sweeping leaves and cigarette butts from the parking area. I have to pay for this service. My bus to school is again, like every morning, crowded like a sardine can. A lady picks her nose about an inch away from my face and stares right at me while doing so. I get to the school in one piece. Ai and I catch a taxi to go to JAC. The taxi driver takes a huge hoooork out the window and is blaring the Chinese drama radio and honking while we are stuck in traffic, like honking the horn will magically make all of the other cars move out of his way. Then Ai tells me I have a demo class to do today, for my class with no teacher's guide. And I have nothing prepared.

Finished my classes, survived them more like it. I have the rest of the day free but what am I going to do in a freezing house with no electricity? So I'm at the school, debating. I need a shower but since we have no hot water, I think I'll go get my hair cut because at least they wash it for you. When that's finished, who knows what I'll do.




Kinda wish I were home.


One month to go.

Advertisement



10th December 2005

Laura's got the red china blues...

Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0583s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb