Around Dongying


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shandong
November 4th 2006
Published: November 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

home sweet homehome sweet homehome sweet home

Here is the hotel where I live.......a slightly nicer picture than before.
Well, not a lot to report here. I haven't been on an crazy adventures lately. I've pretty much just fallen into the routine of things. It's actually starting to feel like home here. I've got a cozy little apartment and the regular food places I go to, it's nice. I've joined a Chinese gym, which I have to admit is hilarious, especially the spinning instructor. It's a pretty good gym, and by pretty good I mean pretty clean.
In other news I'm not freezing anymore. They don't turn on the heat in China until November 15th, and that's just north of the Yellow River. (By "they," I mean the government.) I finally got a hot water bottle to warm up my bed before I go to sleep. My pyjamas used to include flannel pants, a long sleeve shirt, and wool socks. Now it's back to t-shirt and sweat. There's just no happy medium. Mornings are the worst though. I'm woken up at 6am every weekday by communist marching music blaring from the loud speakers outside my window, and it's either freezing cold, or unbearably hot. (I can't adjust the heat level. Only the government can do that.)
On one of the clear days we had last week (one of three clear days I've seen in Dongying so far) I carried my camera with me and snapped some photos of the city. So here ya go. Dongying. I pass that big hotel every time I go into town. The TV tower is kind of the icon of the city. It's one block from JJ's bar, so I look on it fondly. I had to add a picture of my taxi driver, because they are such a big part of my life here. Almost everyday I put my life in their hands. And pretty much regret it every time. They are CRAZY. Run a light? Why not. Drive on the wrong side of the road? Sure, the people on the correct side are driving just too slow. It'll be fine, chinese drivers are good at swerving. (!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!) And they talk the whole time. Either to me (ni shi na guo ren? Meiguoren?) or on their cell phones. Or they will text and drive at the same time. Love that.
So I've included some pictures of my Chinese friend Jane. Jane is GREAT. She is a postgrad at the University and her husband teaches computer science. We've been to their apartment a couple times, first for a chinese dinner. (many dishes and a big finale with a giant grapefruit) and once for a western dinner, cooked by greg, richard and myself. (out of the spaghetti made by Greg, the Microwave cornflake chicken made by richard, and my mashed potatoes, the potatoes DOMINATED.) Anyway, Jane is great. She's my shopping buddy. We like to wander around the Korean market a lot, and the supermarket. Especially the supermarket. She's WAY into food, almost as much as me. I'm going to meet her sister and niece sometime this month.
Speaking of the supermarket, check out the last picture. On sale, only 12 kuai/kg, BUGS. Insects. To eat. On the street they grill giant cicadas on a stick and people LOVE THEM. I see girls walkin around all the time, munchin on a bug. I haven't built up the courage to try one yet, but those who have say they are NASTY.
Oh, and of course my chinese haircut. I got a chinese haircut. Completely by mistake. I asked for a trim and ended up with a mullet. Some of you have seen pictures, some of you never will.
While I have little to report, that doesn't mean I haven't been busy. My routine is eating up all my time!!! The main reason this blog was written is because it's 4am and I have insomnia again. Bu hao. Anyway, more to come eventually. If you're absolutely dying to know the minute I write my next one, just subscribe, you'll get an email or something.
Happy Thanksgiving! Enjoy you're stuffing while I whimper over some fried noodles!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

sea scallopssea scallops
sea scallops

aren't they pretty? I wouldn't let anyone eat them until I got a decent picture. (out to dinner with Jane and Eric)
GIANT GRAPEFRUIT!!GIANT GRAPEFRUIT!!
GIANT GRAPEFRUIT!!

After dinner at Jane and Eric's.
Jane againJane again
Jane again

Cute picture of Jane.


25th November 2006

Happy Thanksgiving!
Yay for your updates! Enjoy your Thanksgiving! (Take a moment of gratitude before you feast on those roasted bugs- or maybe you're still trying to eat the giant grapefruit?!)
26th November 2006

if i were to eat a bug, it would be one of those kind that crashes your hard drive.
7th December 2006

duh
Mashed potatoes always dominate. They rule the world and I am their master

Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0228s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb