Fun Stuff!! In Jining


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shandong » Jining
September 28th 2010
Published: September 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Jining's Famous TowerJining's Famous TowerJining's Famous Tower

It's located very close to the mosque, and I think it's a lovely shaped skyscraper myself.
Finally...FINALLY...after living in Jining for upwards of six months, and never once bothering to explore the city...I finally explored the city. Seeing my impending status as a quitter of Jining, and having a fellow couchsurfer come down to the city, I knew the opportunity to explore was ripe.

I might have learned the city earlier, Dubai-style, by taking buses to the back of beyond and then returning...but when the city's main attraction points are the ferris wheel and the coal-fired power plant...when just walking around outside is an excruciating rendez-vous with public embarrassment...and when you can't really defend yourself with language...well, I didn't really have any incentives to do it earlier.

But I did yesterday! I showed my guest around town, and in the process learned a few things about my city. For instance, we discovered that apparently Jining has a mosque that also doubles as a museum--and what a nice thing to be able to walk in and talk to people, so much different than my time in the UAE where it's literally illegal for a non-Muslim to touch a Qur'an let alone set foot in a mosque. There's a guy there who does Qur'anic calligraphy, speaks Arabic,
Through the GateThrough the GateThrough the Gate

Apparently, this guy is the guardian of Jining's mosque.
French, and English in addition to his native Chinese; in the end I got a calligraphic scroll from him after showing him I knew some rudimentary Arabic.

I also learned about migrating ice cream stores and walked away with a few insights about the people I work with. The sky was blue, the sun was shining, and I was overcome with a rare sense of inner peace and belonging.

You can probably get more from the photos than from my long-winded narration, so here they are.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Circular DoorwayCircular Doorway
Circular Doorway

At the mosque.
The Crap Section of TownThe Crap Section of Town
The Crap Section of Town

Bears disturbing resemblance to Cincinnati.
Pink Peanuts and a Basket of SeedsPink Peanuts and a Basket of Seeds
Pink Peanuts and a Basket of Seeds

I do not know why they are this color.
Chinese Arabic CalligraphyChinese Arabic Calligraphy
Chinese Arabic Calligraphy

Mine looks sort of like the ones in the top row.


Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 10; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0478s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb