as it was today


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shaanxi » Xi'an
September 2nd 2006
Published: September 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

i feel like writing what was today and not trying to remember what was 3 days ago and how i felt and working up these old impressions once more. this night i took the train from beijing to xian. i never felt very eager to go to xian since i considered it always (always, means since i have read about it) as just another very touristy place that is very much overestimated. i came here because it is a very fine stop on my way to the south: 12 hours from beijing and 16 hours from changdu (actually also just another stop while going southwards). this time i booked at aplace beforehand and they really picked me up at the railway station. the first impression of xi'an was that it is a very busy city and now still i feel the same way.
after getting ready in my room (which i share with some other people) i went to get some money and got myself something to eat. it was some kind of bread filled with something i don't really know but i could choose what i wanted to have inside. then i went to find out how to get to these terracotta warriors you have to see when you're in china. it was actually pretty easy, just like the lonely planet you could take a public bus very cheap to go there and there was just one guy who wanted to talk me into going with him on his minibus but when i made clear that i just wanted to see the terracotta warriors he immediately gave up and pointed at the public bus.that was really easy!
i came there, some gyus tried to talk me into a guided tour or sell me some figurines. i started at first towards the museum. that was pretty boring for me. again some bronze stuff i have already seen quite some times now. the first pit where they had found some of these warriors was pretty empty in the aecond one there were some standing around. for some reasons the rythm of "crimes" by the blood brothers appeared in my mind i started to whistle it. when i got out of the second pit i packed out my mp3 player and listened to the album of the blood brothers and went on to the third and last pit. there were quite a few of these terracotta warriors standing around and the question "so what...?" appeared in my mind. i mean, yes, they are quite nice statues and it's fine that most of them look different but actually i think they're overestimated. some emperor drunk on his power wanted to build a monument and let a lot of people work for him but still that doesn't seem so great to me. probably i'm pretty ignorant. may it be so.
tomorrow i will try another site here around xi'an. let's hope i can get rid of some of my ignorance till then. however, right now i will go and have a look at the muslim quarter here and have dinner then.

Advertisement



6th September 2006

tired
Hi Flo! I am so tired... yesterday I wrote my last written exam :) and today I read your last three entries since I did not find the time before. It sounds great but also sometimes exhausting. Right now I would need something to lie on for about a month to rest... ;) Hug! Linda

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0651s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb