Good Eats with an Old Friend


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shaanxi » Xi'an
October 2nd 2012
Published: November 27th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Candy is originally from Xi'an, so she was able to show me around and introduce me to lots of local foods. I'd had la mian (pulled noodles) before--noodle shops are common all over the country--but I was excited to try many other goodies.

We went to the Muslim Quarter for lunch and street food snacking. (Street food is my favorite in any city!) We went to Jia San Guan Tang Bao 贾三灌汤包 for lunch, a very popular restaurant. They serve dumplings with broth in them, which I'd never had before. Watching the workers run around, their trays stacked high with baozi steamers was amazing. I kept expecting someone to drop something.

After we stuffed ourselves at lunch, we went out in search of street food. There were a lot of meat options (which I obviously skipped) but also lots of sweet snacks, fruits, nuts, and juice drinks. I tried everything I could and we waddled through the streets and crowds, never disappointing our taste buds or cameras.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

baozibaozi
baozi

These are vegetarian, but the meat ones have a little soup that spills out when you bite them.


Tot: 0.397s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 83; dbt: 0.3291s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb