Xian- The Terra Cotta Warriors


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shaanxi » Xi'an
July 16th 2012
Published: July 16th 2012
Edit Blog Post

When we drove into Xian, the first thing that I noticed was the smog. Fortunately, we only stayed a couple nights. In Shanghai and Nanjing, I thought the haze was caused mostly by the thick humidity. But when I arrived in Xian, where it is dry, it's clear that a good part of that haze was pollution. This is the dirtiest air I've ever experienced. It is so thick it's impossible to see more than a few blocks. And unfortuantely I'm not joking. All the people in America that think fossils fuels are just fine should live in Xian for a year. Maybe then they would have a different outlook.

Smog aside, the visit to the Terra Cotta Warrior site and nearby hot springs was amazing.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Lauren and I at the hot springsLauren and I at the hot springs
Lauren and I at the hot springs

We also took the cable car (gondola) to the top of the mountain. Wasn't much to see because of the smog. :( The pagoda behind us is only 2 years old, but the site is 1,000s of years old.


Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.055s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb