Two Worlds ...


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shaanxi » Xi'an
October 13th 2011
Published: October 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post


Look at the computer your reading this on, feel the fan or air con in your room and you probably have the light on don’t you? Guess what all made in China right? Everything we use is made in China and obviously I’m telling you guys nothing new. It used to be Made in China equaled crap but that idea is long gone. I don’t mind buying anything from the East, at home we have a nice T.V, all have laptops and computers and they all work well. I’m happy with the quality I get from my Chinese product in our Western World. Then to further this it always seems to be in the news that China is flying ahead and it is the new place of economic prosperity. Buildings are flying up, cities are growing and China is the new future.

I went over here expecting cheap products and all these things that I can get in Australia would be here at a cheaper or comparable price. Most people would have a flat screen T.V that they got on the cheap and a couple of awesome laptops for the kids. Well guess what, it’s truly a different world. All these brands we get in Australia are actually made only for Western consumption. The Chinese don’t actually have nearly the same access to these brands. You are flat out spotting something like Samsung or LG, common brands in Australia. If you do find it usually cost the same or more. Example my phone here is a Nordia, not quite a Nokia and is pretty shitty quality. My first phone I ever had was a Motorola and is easily of comparable value and actually cost less than the one I bought in China. Another perfect example is one of the schools I taught at. It had old style box T.V’s and only one had a DVD player. Whose house have you been too lately where they have a old box T.V? This school wasn’t even in an underprivileged or poor area.

Don’t get me started on the building quality. Everything is shoddily built to the max. It’s not uncommon to go close the window and realize the windows are actually smaller than the frame because no one bothered to measure it. Or flush the toilet and wonder why your feet are wet because someone only half hooked up the plumbing. I am amazed at how shoddy everything really is from cheap dive to high class shopping center. Peel back the façade and you see how much has really gone into it. As for China being the future I wouldn’t be placing any bets on that. Nothing is sustainable and nothing is built to last. Give it a few more years/decades and implosion time.

On the hand I could just be talking out my rear end. China really is a place that is based on solid foundations and has a bright (well constructed) future.

Finally I will just quickly swing in some food for thought if you’re still hungry. Out of the 30 must see attractions in Lonely Planets Guidebook 27 attractions are not in the cities, two aren’t even really in China (Tibet) and most of them are ancient buildings or nature sites. You can kinda see where China’s cities and recent man made attractions fit into the order of beauty or tourist places. Hint: Somewhere down the bottom.

Z.C (Demographer and Professor of Future Economics)

NOT.


Advertisement



13th October 2011

HEEEEEEEEEEYYYYYYYY
HEY ZIN!! how\'s it going in china?? just found this blog cause of flynn (bless his lovely foot) and i read your first post with ur gambling (dont make it a problem, stop at $55 haha) and i\'ll get on to checkin the other ones out. good to know you\'re doing well for yourself and having a ball :D cheers, Des
18th October 2011

Ai ai ai ai his foot!
It be going all right dude, it ain't super cool but I hope it will get better. Just make sure you tell Mandy its freaking awesome. Yeah man I'm all over the gambling control, I won 18cents so I'm well on my way to retirement. Thanks bro keep reading them and remember to subscribe, say hello to Jo and the rest of the Chongs and Chai's, thanks dude, miss ya!

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0512s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb