Expo take 2


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shaanxi » Xi'an
April 29th 2011
Published: June 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Great Drum PreformanceGreat Drum PreformanceGreat Drum Preformance

The Chinese viewers did not seem to comprehend it.
The second half of expo highlights 😊
The expo park is very large and takes a whole day to see everything. We were there at the opening week, so a few things we still being sorted. A large section is separated into gardens devoted to various locations. Almost every province in China had an individual garden featuring something special about the province. The Taiwan exhibit was enormous including a waterfall. Then the International section displayed gardens from various countries including; Germany, India, Mexico, The Philippines, New Zealand, Pakistan, and Russia. Each country has a garden and a connecting building with a locals from the country and souvenirs for sale. I walked into the building for Pakistan and one of the Pakistani representatives appeared so happy to see me and started a conversation immediately. I guess he had been having some trouble with speaking Chinese.
Unfortunately this area I chose to go through rather quickly so I could make it to other areas in time. Thus I have only a few pictures of that area. I then ran into an area of gardens designed by several artists and these are the first few pictures I have. Then it got a bit crazy; African drummers, a Greek fountain, massive sand sculptures, and the landmark attractions. The Chang'an Tower looked nice, they would not let me in, even with the camera and a determined walk. The greenhouse was impressive, separated areas displayed everything from cacti to tropical trees. I enjoyed the Southeast Asian Street, then came the European Village. Nothing was built to last, but was a rather accurate copy for the most part. It was a fun tour, and I'm sure that for every picture I took a Chinese tourist took one of me.


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Chang'an TowerChang'an Tower
Chang'an Tower

The basic entrance pass is not enough to go in, you need a VIP pass
Complete with localsComplete with locals
Complete with locals

I was supposed to pay for this picture
Cream and Peach Sandwich Cream and Peach Sandwich
Cream and Peach Sandwich

I would not recommend it


Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0504s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb