Trains and Bicycles - full post


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shaanxi » Xi'an
December 5th 2007
Published: December 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

My bunkMy bunkMy bunk

My bunk is the middle one on the right.

Trains and Bicycles



Ok so this is the full post. Well sort of.

Monday night I boarded a train from Beijing and was quickly shown my bunk, which was actually quite comfortable. The snoring from all over the train was not that good but once again my trusty noice-cancelling headphones came into play - those things are the best invention ever.

On the train I managed to do some reading 'Quotations from Chairman Mao' and some planning for the next few legs of my journey. About 8pm a guy wheeling a little cart came screaming along shouting out 'Pijou, mian!' Translation beer and noodles, just what I wanted. So i bought a can of beer and some instant noodles which I filled up at the hot water urn at the end of the carriage. Instant noodles are a staple over here for travellers and people on the go, and they are actually pretty good, especially when washed down with some beer.

The lights were turned off at 10pm and I tucked myslef into bed and was lulled to sleep by the rocking of the train, however it was the stopping and starting of the train as it
The carriageThe carriageThe carriage

Sardines...
stopped thorughout the night that woke me almost every 2 hours until we arrived at Xian at 7am.

I had emailed a hostel in Xian that was recommended to me and they had organised to pick me up for free from the station, so I was promptly picked up and taken to my hostel which is pretty cool. It is very laid back and casual, there is a resident turtle, cat and a golden retriever who has just had 8 puppies and they just run around causing havoc all day, they are so cute. Anyway, the hostel is nice, rooms are a little dark but they are clean and comfy and the shower facilities are great (when there is hot water). I got myself settled in and ten headed out and up onto the ciy walls of Xian where I hired a bike and rode aroound the city of Xian. It was really nice, ezpecially that early in the morning as there was hardly anybody else there and at certain stages I found myself on long stretches of wall without anyone else! A rare thing in China! Afterwards I proceeded to 'do' the rest of the main sights around the city of Xian, the Drum Tower and the Bell Tower, the Forest of Stelae Museum and the markets in the Muslim Quarter.

Once back at the hostel I met up with an Israeli guy who had moved into my room, we chatted for a while and after a beer or two we headed out for some dinner in the Muslim quarter, where we were yelled at by a waitress (a few times actually) for a reason unknown to us, she even yelled at another waitress who was trying to help us. But we got fed.

We met an American girl who was heading to the Terracotta Warriors the next day and we all decided we would head out tomorrow and do it together.

So Terracotta Warriors next...


Matt out.

END TRANSMISSION



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



5th December 2007

Good thing you are a small man! :)
5th December 2007

Sardines!
I thought you were in China NOT Japan - the bunks look like Japanese hotel!! Glad you got some sleep anyway - Warriors should be good - catch up soon. Love M xx
6th December 2007

The bunks look really funny!!! Cute Puppies. Did you think of Romsey!!! hehe
6th December 2007

Puppies!!
I did think of Romsey, but they were a lot smaller than Romsey! Puppies are so cute, and the smell good!

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0226s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb