School's Out For Summer


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shaanxi » Xi'an
June 17th 2007
Published: June 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

David and CecDavid and CecDavid and Cec

They came over for food and Playstation, but it started thunderstorming. So they stole our clothes.
So, exam time at Chang An. My course is continuous assessment, with marks being given for those who turn up week after week, and those who volunteer, as opposed to letting me stand in front of the class in silence, watching them squirm as they try and hide behind their books. A lot of students only turn up on the first and last day of classes though. I had one student run past me on the stairs, only for him to catch up with me a couple of hundred metres down the road home...
"You! You are my teacher?"
"I don't know, I have never seen you before." I didn't mention the fact he hadn't recognised me on the stairs.
"Yes, Teacher Mary. I want my exam now."
I took his student number, and walked on.
"But, exam!"
"I give marks by attendance."
"I was not there, I have something important to do, can I have exam, please."
Unfortunately, we're not allowed to fail students, so he still has to get a 60, but no more. I put my foot down. Gosh, I'm tough.

Despite the ridiculous attitude of most of the students, some demanding we give them a 90 so they can get early graduation, others filming us on their mobile phones as we try and teach, or taking calls in class, I have decided to renew my contract here. I will be a lot tougher next year though. On talking to Mr BossMan while resigning, we mentioned that we would be interested in learning Chinese properly. Mr BossMan nearly fell out of his chair with excitement. Or beer, not sure which. Anyway, it turns out that he will let us take the class they hold for foreigners, most of whom take the Chinese Proficiency Test after a year, for free in the mornings, and put all our classes in the afternoons. It would be great to get the level up to a recognised standard, and also fill up the free time that is currently spent in the company of beer and cards. I am very excited about it!

Advertisement



22nd June 2007

Buy A slipper
I seem to remember when I was at school we had our sttention focussed with the back of a slipper! I will buy you one to use as a threat. Love you Mum

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 34; dbt: 0.0655s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb