My Dream Job


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangxi » jiujiang
November 3rd 2009
Published: November 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Last week, I taught a class on jobs. I ellicted from my students descriptions of their "dream jobs". They had to come up with particularls (such as CEO, Lawyer), and general charactaristics of an ideal job. All four of my classes came up with similar lists- they wanted jobs that were creative, high-paying, involved travel, were helpful to the community, exciting, and allowed them to excercize authority over others.

After they came up with these lists, I asked them to guess what my dream job would be. After two seconds of pondering, a few shouted out "teacher". My students are quickly picking up on my (perfectly serious) sense of humor. As an English teacher, I do get to travel, I am helpful to the global community, I am allowed to excercize my creativity, I am payed very well, and most importantly (as I told them, shaking my fist), I have tremendous power over my students.

I had my first proper pay day last week. They take 10 yuan out for taxes out of a total of 5,000 monthly (not to mention free accomidation). Man does it feel good to hold all those Maos! I'm getting help opening up a
Hardworking StudentsHardworking StudentsHardworking Students

They take pictures of me sometimes so fair is fair. Besides no faces are visible.
bank account on Saturday, and I should be able to get a card that works overseas. Wait until the renmimbi appreciates against the dollar- I'll predict here, in the eternalness of the internet, a 50%!a(MISSING)ppreciation over the next 6.5 years. However, even in dollar terms I am getting paid a better hourly wage than I ever have before in my life- if I don't count particularly successful busking sessions.

I was Fidel Castro again for Halloween. About a third of the Chinese recognized the outfit. At one point, however, when I was buying some street food, a local asked his friend when he saw me Ta shi Yindu ren? . I was overjoyed (although I did correct them). Still pulling the Jedi Mind Trick, and I don't even wear my lungi.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Professor BrendanProfessor Brendan
Professor Brendan

Holding (nearly) a month's wages. Jay-Z can't bling like this.


3rd November 2009

Fistshaking is the most powerful tool in a teacher's arsenal
What's "DT" on the jobs list? I googled Yindu and am suitably impressed. Also googled it to make sure they weren't guessing you were from Xinjiang.
4th November 2009

dream jobs
I loved seeing "reporter" up there. at least four of those jobs involved somehow the notion of telling the truth. YES!
8th November 2009

I thought "Yindu" would mean Hindu but Devin says it is a recognized ethnic group. I'll tell him the "DT" on second look is "DJ" Have you listened to radio music?
22nd November 2009

Ta shi Yindu-ren ma?
Mom is dui-de- correct. Yinduren simply means "Indian".

Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0645s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb