Chinese Lessons


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangxi » jiujiang
October 14th 2009
Published: October 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Flying Fire LaternFlying Fire LaternFlying Fire Latern

May my language skills soar.
As it turns out, I have a significant amount of free time when my in-class teaching load is about twelve hours a week. Lesson planning isin't too tough, and I think my students like me so far. I've been drilling into their heads every chance I get: "Seattle is the best city in America."

Luckily, I have found a wonderful Chinese teacher. His English name is Ross, and he is from Inner Mongolia. He also has a fairly light load this quarter (nine hours of English teaching a week). His wife "Echo" is lovely, and their English is great. They were kind enough to invite me to their apartment for my first home-cooked Chinese meal! Lots of fish- turns out I rather enjoy fried eel. Furthermore, Ross is a big Nirvana fan, so not only did I have the opportunity to enjoy traditional Chinese hospitality (I was culturally obliged to eat as much as I possibly could), I simultaneously was able to hear some good music from back home.

At any rate, Ross is preparing for his IELTS exam. In exchange for some help studying, he is giving me a couple of hours of Chinese lessons every week. We picked out a book from the library and have dived right in. Already my pronounciation and confidence are improving. Between his lesssons and audio courses available (for free) from this website , I should be gossiping with taxi drivers in no time.

I had my first random, on-the-street semi-conversation yesterday. While a woman was making me a "pizza with Chinese charactaristics" (more on this later), her friends in the neighbooring stalls started up a conversation with me. I knew the right time to tell them Wo shi laoshi . Then they asked if I have been in Jiujiang one year or two years. I told them the number arshi san , but didin't know how to say days ( tian , sounds like "ti-en", but monosyballic). At any rate I think they understood and asked follow up questions, to which I answerd my standard "Wo shi chuen" - "I am stupid"- the most important phrase in any language. Still, them appeared to be quite pleased by my attempts at communication.

This is the motivation I need. I want to be able to communicate outside the small circle of foreign teachers. I want to know what "old hundred names" thinks and feels. Unlike India, most of the people here have virtually no practical English, so my need and desire to learn their language is quite strong. Let's see how I do.

Advertisement



14th October 2009

Discover China, Learn Chinese!
19th October 2009

language learning
You will get out of it what you put in. 12 months of concentrated daily weekely workouts w language will add t your worthy thurst. Great motivation. Hanging with the street vendors/resturants. God bless.

Tot: 0.188s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 68; dbt: 0.1172s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb