settlin' in


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangxi » jiujiang
September 25th 2009
Published: September 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Sports DaySports DaySports Day

I didin't think to bring my camera until after the opening ceremonies. Apologies.
First I'd like to give a quick shoutout to my buddy Travis. Thanks for the phone, it's good for photos even without a simcard.

I think I passed my medical inspection! The Chinese nurse seemed to draw quite a bit of blood, and the operator in the X-ray room was smoking a cigarette, but besides this everything went quite well.

I got a tour of the campus from a student. There are many new buildings, and a new park area that is only one year old. Looks like I came here at a very good time!

I've met many other Westerners working here. There seems to be a solid group, two have been here for five years. Must be a pretty sweet gig. These veterans are good for advice regarding where to eat and shop.

Yesterday class was cancled for a "sports day". There was a well-coordinated opening ceremony with synchronized dancing and marching. The South Asian students had their own presentation. They were wearing traditional clothing and waving Chinese flags, along with the flags of their home countries. Lots of Indians, a few Pakistanis and Bengalis, and two or three Afghans. Dr. Sarllar cheered heartily.

Next came the races. It was warm (in the low 30s) and a handful of female competetors collapsed in the heat during the 5K.

Some friends and I got a tour of downtown Jiujiang. Very nice city, lots of small lakes, temples, and parks, not to mention several KFCs and lots of shopping. We were lucky enough to see the brown expanse of the longest river in China.

The locals here are very very honest when dealing with (potentially exploitable) ignorant foreigners. Yesterday while purchasing a popsicle I gave the xiaoje working the stand two yuan. She shook her head "no", so I offered her another one, at which point she smiled, and gave me 1.5 yuan change from my original payment. So, when she knew she could get 3 yuan out of the deal, she would only accept the half yuan price. Very honorable. She will be rewarded with frequent popsicle purchases.

Lots of students studying English are quite eager to exchange a coversation with an American for simple Chinese lessons. I've leared alot about the history of this area, from the first dynasty to unite China up until the Long March (which started in this province) and current economic developement.

One minor "hickup" is that I won't be able to start teaching until after the early October holidays for the 60th Anniversary of the founding of the People's Republic of China.

The Chinese spoil the hell out of their children. The kids are showered with attention and praise, and are pushed around in fake plastic automobiles. The toddlers todd around with slits in the back of their pants (to save money on diapers?). When they have to "go", a parent simply has the kids crouch down in the street and let loose.

Dr. Sarllar gave me a great compliment yesterday. While introducing me to a Nepali doctor, he said "Brendan is half American and half Bengali."

British Ben and I have a friendly running competition. We ask students which accent they prefer, English or American. It's safe to assume no one in China is mad enough to prefer the Australian accent.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

MapMap
Map

In Chinese maps, Kashmir is always marked as seperate from India and Pakistan. Check out the white area.


26th September 2009

stan' back
that praying mantis is SO BEAUTIFUL!!! glad to be in the same world with it...
26th September 2009

do the parents pick up after there kids when they crap in the streets???

Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0736s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb