Woot it's Friday!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangxi » Nanchang
September 28th 2012
Published: September 28th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Happy Birthday to...Happy Birthday to...Happy Birthday to...

I know how encouraging it can be to have someone remember your birthday, so here's a shout out all the way from China to those who have birthdays in the month of September. Oh, and the cake was delicious. ^_^
Hi all! I know I have to work tommorow, but Fridays are the bomb. : ) I only have to teach one class, which equals almost 2 hours, but it's still nice to have a light load at the end of the week.

I also now have groupies. ^_^ If you ever want to feel like a movie star just teach English over here in China. I have students of all kinds coming up to me and taking photos of me and with me wherever I go on campus. It's rather funny, but they have a blast coming up to me and even saying "Hi, how are you?" But two girls especially who have been trying to learn English have been visiting with me often so that we can have conversations. They're both very friendly and we don't have many lulls in our conversations.

Also got my first paycheck yesterday! Not too much considering what I'm supposed to get paid, but since I've only worked half the time it's only fair. I'm also not sure what I'm going to spend it on. I don't need much for groceries and I certainly don't have many bills other than my phone,
Balloon send-offBalloon send-offBalloon send-off

So Anna, the new teacher Fannie and I were all walking near the freshman dorms when we see a group setting something on fire. Thankfully it was a controlled fire meant for a paper balloon which we got to see rise up into the sky. It was very pretty.
so I feel like I'm probably going to be spending a lot on shipping things back home when it comes time.

Oh! and I before I forget, I want to say Happy Birthday to those people in September I missed out on because I left.
Granny Rose, you turned old... again. ^_^ I hope you had a wonderful time with all the family there.
Brian, sorry we couldn't watch those DVD's before I left, but maybe by the time I've come back you'll have collected some more...
Jessi Woods, thanks so much for that super encouraging phone call before I left, hope you had a awesome b-day part @ Julie's house!
Becca boo, you're getting so old!!! Which means I'm getting old!!! I'm not supposed to be an old aunt >_< Hope you had a good one and I'm still working on getting that sweatshirt for you 😉
Aunt B, thanks so much for my own b-day card which made it before I left and I hope everyone treats you like a queen on the 30th.

So, I love you all and thankfully no new disasters to report... other than my phone mysteriously not working again despite have
Guitar Guitar Guitar

Teacher Anna said the guys need to learn some English songs so she can sing with them next time.
lots of money on it... oh well. Take care all and send me some lovin messages!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Claw machineClaw machine
Claw machine

Looks cute doesn't it?
Claw machine 2Claw machine 2
Claw machine 2

Well, it's filled with cigarrette packs....
Color gaurdColor gaurd
Color gaurd

These girls remind me of the color gaurd back home. I think the school's getting ready for the National Day because there's flags and balloons everywhere...


28th September 2012

Claw Machine
Is that the machine by Cam and Praveen's or a different place? lol
29th September 2012

The claw machine
It's by the freshman dorms. It's a whole new area I hadn't seen before because it's so out of the way of the classrooms and the cafeterias I visit. I saw its pinkness and thought "oh how cute" and then I saw the inside and was like "omg... are they advertising cigarettes to little kids???" Oh China and it's general lack of inhibitions. ^_^
28th September 2012

Wow that claw machine...
That is seriously funny. I am SOOO happy you have this blog! I get excited when I see you've posted something new. Oh, last night, BTW, I was about to turn off the front room light when I thought, "But Carla isn't home yet..." and then I realized. Duh. You're in China. :( I miss you! Anyway, the boys are good. Freddie keeps getting props at school for being so smart. Ev is being a great leader in his class since there are only 2 first grade boys (him being one of them). Freddie drew a family tree in school this week, and guess what! There were 6 people included. Freddie, Ev, Mama, Dada, Aunt Debbie, and Miss Carla! The boys miss you too... My mom is coming to visit next week, which will be nice. And it's International Day at dcoc this Sunday which I LOVE! Maybe I should make some chinese food in your honor. Well, that's about it for now. I need to have Ben help me figure out Skype so we can talk soon. I want to show you Freddie's picture. Could you also email/FB message me your address there? Love you! Jen

Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0541s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb