To teach or not to teach?


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangxi » Nanchang
September 9th 2009
Published: September 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Nihao All:
I'm all smiles as I write this blog. China is HILARIOUS! I'm beginning to realize that there is nothing I could have done to prepare for any of this. Yesterday morning there was a guy driving a motorcycle in the cafeteria to unload bundles of cabbage! Then there are all the babies running around with no diapers on but just slits in their onesies for them to do their business where ever they please! There is also the crazy hacking and spitting everywhere and the poor car horns are still not given a break. I'm slowly getting adjusted to all the stares and after positive reinforcement from my Dad, Lia, and Mother from my last blog and others I have a new out take on it all and my mental capacity is growing stronger everyday to endure the discomfort.
The swelling of my foot has subsided with my ability to maintain hydrated and I have also discovered a gym in the building that I teach in, which is very close to my appartment. With a regular physical regiment and watching my diet I think I can overcome the MSG poison and live quite happily and hopefully, cheaply in China.
All those who know me fairly well can attest to the fact that I have the ability to be a hypocondriac at times, and the unfamiliarity of my surroundings, and the uncertainty of not knowing how to get around has really got me obsessing with my health. I would rather be safe than sorry, and I'm attempting to take this opportunity of being here to make sure I don't have to resort to visiting a Chinese hospital.
Poor Shelly had some medical issues while here in Nanchang, and though she said the equipment was topnotch, there is a lack of couth here, and her stories of her stay in a Nanchang hospital are not my ideal of how I would ever choose to spend my time.
Other than that, the weather for the past few days has been gorgeous. It's been breezy and sunny and I haven't been staying in my apartment very much, but I also haven't sweated out all my electrolytes while outdoors.
Last night I had dinner with all the foriegn teachers in the building and it was a nice gathering with friendly conversation. Everyone here is quite a character and has loads of stories in which I can learn from. I am close to being the baby of the bunch, and I am amazed and encouraged with everyones life experiences. We went to a hole in the wall (typical,local) restaurant right outside of campus and the food was finger-licking delicious. I, afterwards invited some people back to my place for further conversation, and I must say it was the best social night I've had since I've been here.
Today, I researched hostels in Hangzhou to stay in since I hadn't been prepared to teach until September 21st and I was eager to visit Hangzhou while I still had a chance. I was almost ready to book this beautiful outdoor hostel right outside of the famous 'West Lake' but realized that Helen still had my passport for banking and residency purposes. I went to her office to retrieve not only my passport by also my teaching supplies, but she wasn't there. Instead, the other teacher Jason gave me my supplies (but no Passport).
When I arrived back home I got a call from my head teacher Sophie, telling me there was a change of plans and I had to give her a syllabus by tomorrow! and that I would be teaching classes by this Tuesday the 15th! So, I suppose it was a blessing that I did not have my passport to book my hostel stay in Hangzhou, as it is very clear that it would not have worked out. It is always funny to note how things work out the way they do.
Then also today I had to attend my first English corner. It is an event every Wednesday where we English teachers venture out to the Student Activity center to literally stand there and wait for Chinese students to come talk to us. The purpose is for them to practice their English language skills, and I suppose for all of us to encounter cultural exchange.
I walked over with Shelly and Nick, still completely unprepared for Sophies unexpected request and not knowing what exactly I was getting myself into.
Tonight was a beautiful night and the event was held outside of the building on the stairs, and we arrived relatively late by Chinese standards. I initially thought I was going as an observer, but that clearly wasn't so!
First, these two girls came and spoke with me asking me questions about where I was from and who I was, and why I came to China, and if I could speak any Chinese, etc. One of the girls gave me monkey keychain as a gift for being the first foreigner she had ever spoken with. She was so cute and genuine and hugged me before she left and it was awesome.
But then, I found myself in admist with 10-15 Chinese students looking at me and asking me all types of questions (literally..all types of questions.wow). For a minute I was overwhelmed but I quickly learned to relax and actually enjoy their company. After all it is I who they have come to see and speak with and I should feel honored by the fact they are even trying to get to know me, or for that matter even try to speak the language that I speak.
I came out of English corner with a list full of information from these kids, and some potential new friends. They practiced their new English, I got the info I needed to get around this town, so all in all it was a success. Since I haven't officially started teaching yet, the event was the first time that I have realized my purpose here in Nanchang.
I can sense that teaching is very rewarding, and though at times it may be frustrating. I am feeling like I have a sense of purpose and no other job I have ever had has made me feel this way. I am encouraged and very positive and though I am nervous about teaching, I actually cannot wait to enter that classroom. English corner was the perfect practice, in my opinion, to obtaining some insight on what ESL teaching is all about. You must be patient, inviting and more importantly willing and able to learn things about yourself and how you operate within a completely different society than your own. I have a good feeling about this, and though I don't know if I will be able to even do the job, its the first time in my life that I actually WANT to do a job and I feel like thats good enough.
As I write this, I still do not have a syllabus to materialize to Sophie tomorrow morning. But, I know myself well at this point and I will use the only skill that college has given me, which is ' perfecting the divine art of pulling stuff out of my ass'. I hope that it will all go down smoothly tomorrow morning, we shall see.
Cheers
Latifa

Advertisement



9th September 2009

Skype?
Beautiful... English Corner sounds awesome! So students just chose who they wanted to talk to at random on a stairwell? I have a mental image... and it's quite hilarious to say the least. I'm so excited to hear about your first day and your first week!! My vacation is coming up: my last day of the semester is on the 18th - I can't believe it! But it is definitely time for a much-needed break. I have some plans that are materializing, and they involve a slow boat into Laos and an orphanage by the Myanmar border. My sister is coming in mid-October, and we're going to head down south to Phuket, Krabi (the beautiful, paradise beaches of Thailand). ... CAn't wait to travel with you somewhere!!! Vietnam (it's in between us both). Are you on skype yet? What's your time there? Or, rather, what's the time difference to Eastern US, and then I can figure it out from there. Sounds like you are going to make some great friends.. still waiting for pictures galore!! Love Lia
11th September 2009

woooooow
That sounds so intense, probably more so than anything we experienced in class....hah, but It sounds like an adventure, indeed. This is exciting, and like Lia, I'm interested in hearing about your first day/week of class! You've already made the hardest step, keep up the good work! Cody

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0504s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb