Jingdezhen, China 2013


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangxi » Jingdezhen
June 26th 2013
Published: June 27th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Next two months will be in Jingdezhen, the porcelain city of China. My home away from home. Setting up my summer temporary studio, beginning work, meeting with old friends, making new acquaintences, trips and more.


Additional photos below
Photos: 97, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

JingdezhenJingdezhen
Jingdezhen

Ah yes, back in the porcelain city. Let's see how long it takes before I can not look at any more blue on white porcelain.
JingdezhenJingdezhen
Jingdezhen

Familiar intersection with grocery store near the JCI campus.
JingdezhenJingdezhen
Jingdezhen

Staying at the International Youth Hostel again this summer. Great place to meet other foreigners and Chinese visiting town. Many artists use this as their summer logging as I do.
JingdezhenJingdezhen
Jingdezhen

Two student studio assistants for June. Zora (Yang Yezi) just completed her first year at Macalester College. Her boyfriend Derek (Da Shang) also volunteered to help me for the month. They will help in the studio and with translation. YEAH!!!
JingdezhenJingdezhen
Jingdezhen

The youth hostel is located in the Sculpture Factory Area of Jingdezhen. A friend helped me secure a studio just a block away. So convenient.
JingdezhenJingdezhen
Jingdezhen

The Sculpture Factory Area has many studios and galleries. It is always bustling with energy.
JingdezhenJingdezhen
Jingdezhen

The Bobo sign is my marker to find my studio.
JingdezhenJingdezhen
Jingdezhen

Down the alley to Bobo's left is the studio of Professor Zhou who teaches in Nanjing and he and his wife have a gallery, office and large studio space in Jingdezhen. He graduated from JCI.
JingdezhenJingdezhen
Jingdezhen

Professor Zhou's gallery entrance on the left. Many other studios along the path. I have been given a key and go to the back of the building to access the studio.
JingdezhenJingdezhen
Jingdezhen

Studio view. He leases out areas to several young artists. On the other side of the walls on one side is a studio making wood boxes, another studio glazing large figure sculptures, another with two young screaming kids and the far end lots of people that like to argue. Top this off with competing radios and I think of graduate school at Alfred.
JingdezhenJingdezhen
Jingdezhen

We have contracted for an area to slipcast with my molds.
JingdezhenJingdezhen
Jingdezhen

And another table to put cast pieces and work.
JingdezhenJingdezhen
Jingdezhen

Caicai Jun, Professor Zhou's wife helped ordering and delivery of three barrels of casting slip, some super white clay and another 22 kilograms of medium grade porcelain for my students to experiment with. The delivery lady drove right into the studio...service!
JingdezhenJingdezhen
Jingdezhen

We went out to my friend Jiangshifu's home where I stored my work, tools and molds. We brought molds and tools to the studio and I began teaching Zora and Derek the casting process.
JingdezhenJingdezhen
Jingdezhen

Stirring the slip.
JingdezhenJingdezhen
Jingdezhen

Each taking a turn.
JingdezhenJingdezhen
Jingdezhen

Pouring the liquid clay into the mold.
JingdezhenJingdezhen
Jingdezhen

We would have lunch together each day. I would take them to places I know or explored new little restaurants near the studio. Here we are Coo Hoo, a food court with lots of choices. Derek and I were big fans of the mango shaved ice.
JingdezhenJingdezhen
Jingdezhen

Another tasty snacks are these Taiwan grilled treats.
JingdezhenJingdezhen
Jingdezhen

They take a small ball of dough and roll it out on a grill then top it with egg, bacon, hot dogs...what ever you wish!
JingdezhenJingdezhen
Jingdezhen

Top it off with some spicy sauce. I used to have a couple of these for lunch last summer. Yes, I love food photos.


28th June 2013

Great photos
Thanks for sharing the great photos and commentary! Love the new work in progress--hope to see it in person this fall or winter.
8th July 2013

I'm amazed!!
Hi Gary, Thanks for including me on your blog list. It has been a joy to visit Jingdezhen through this portal. I am amazed at your dedication to your art, and I am impressed by the network of Chinese friends you have established to help you with your work. Well done! If my wife and I happen to be in Minnesota when your exhibit is staged, we'll be sure and come by to see your work. Van J. Symons History Department - Augustana College

Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0597s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb