Paris, Tokyo, London, Ganzhou...


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangxi » Ganzhou
March 24th 2008
Published: March 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Bastketball court where I hustle foolsBastketball court where I hustle foolsBastketball court where I hustle fools

The basketball court at the University where I hustle fools (actually most of them are better than me...)
Pictures of Ganzhou. I know the apartment pictures aren't very exciting, but I wanted to put them up to help entice the handful of you who are thinking about visiting...

20 things to do in Ganzhou:

1. Ride bumper cars and go on the "high-fly rat" roller coaster.
2.Go tea tasting.
3.See live music and dancing at the champs elysees club.
4.Have snakewine and endangered Tibetan antelope ribs.
5.Get a t-shirt made with whatever you want on it.
6.Go to a 9th century Pagoda and throw paper airplanes off the top.
7.Take motorbikes to the village across the river and visit old hillside graves.
8.Get a massage from a blind person.
9. Eat Dog.
10.Go to the antique district and buy posters from the cultural revolution era.
11.Go to the hip hop store and drink with the owner.
12.Rent paddleboats.
13.Get tattoos.
14. Go to the "dark circle of rock forest" music store and sing and play electric guitar, drums, and bass, in front of a crowd of onlookers.
15.Go to a restaurant in a Ching dynasty-era buidling.
16. Visit Buddhist monastary.
17.Eat Muslim food and watch them make noodles by hand.
18.Smoke cigarettes with Chinese people.
19.Eat a kitten (seriously).
20.Play basketball with college students.



will write more soon.

Love,

Michael


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Ganzhou streetsGanzhou streets
Ganzhou streets

As seen from fake KFC...
Hot Dog LadyHot Dog Lady
Hot Dog Lady

Chinese people love their hot dogs.
Coffee TableCoffee Table
Coffee Table

Chris and Katie's coffee table.
Don Imus and StevoDon Imus and Stevo
Don Imus and Stevo

Bet you'd never guess that Stevo had just said the words "Don Imus." This is a painting that Chris is working on in the background.
Bathing ComplexBathing Complex
Bathing Complex

The hallway leading to my "bathing complex," and separate toilet/washermachine room and then another room with shower that looks like a time machine..everytime I step out of it I have to check myself in the mirror to make sure I haven't turned into abraham lincoln.
My "Office" roomMy "Office" room
My "Office" room

I will put a matress in here for anyone who is thinking about visiting...
View from my back porch...View from my back porch...
View from my back porch...

To be honest, it's not usually this sunny
Guangzhou MosqueGuangzhou Mosque
Guangzhou Mosque

This is supposedly the oldest mosque in China, built just after the Muhammad's death.
Old and NewOld and New
Old and New

Sign outside the mosque...
BBQ Whole CamelBBQ Whole Camel
BBQ Whole Camel

I saw this poster on the wall of the Muslim restaurant I was eating in outside the Mosque. Apparently a Uygher (people from the remote western part of China) specialty is whole camel...pass the ranch dressing, please.
I think that's a dog hanging...I think that's a dog hanging...
I think that's a dog hanging...

Just outside the Muslim Uygher restaurant...pretty sure that's a dog hanging by the police officer.... love you archie


Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0352s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb