Tongli's Nanyuan Teahouse


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangsu » Tongli
January 24th 2009
Published: January 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Tongli's Nanyuan Teahouse

The Nanyuan Teahouse is an ancient teahouse built during the Qing Dynasty. It is located in a corner of Tongli and overlooks the shopping street. I always pick a window seat overlooking the shopping street so I can people watch. The teahouse is a two storey building. The first floor has the counters, a few chairs and an old Tiger Kiln. A Tiger Kiln is used to boil water to make it drinkable. It is heated with a wood fire. In the past it was cheaper to go to a Tiger Kiln to buy the day's drinking water than to burn wood to boil your own, so every morning everyone would head there to purchase water. They no longer use theirs, but they keep it clean and stocked so it looks like it is still used. The second floor is filled with tables and chairs and has windows all the way around offering nice views of Tongli. There is a stage set up on one wall for performances of Kun Opera. The tea there is quite nice and not overpriced.

Every time I go to Tongli I eat at Nanyuan Teahouse. I go in the late afternoon about 5:00 before it gets busy. I head straight to the 2nd floor and reserve my seat for the evening. The meals there are fantastic! This last time I was there I ate Tongli Noodles. I hate noodles, but theirs are so good I scarf them down. I then ordered some snacks and some green tea and settled in for the evening.

The Nanyuan Teahouse is a fantastic way to spend the evening and it is really nice to relax after spending the day walking around.

Ticket Price:
Free to enter
Time Needed:
.5-2 hours
Hours of Operation:
10:00-8:30 (If busy or during holidays they might stay open later)
Location:
Tongli Village outside Suzhou

In September 2008 I was sent on an inspection tour with China Odyssey Tours I am the Marketing Manager of China Odyssey Tours. No one is told that I work for the company, and since I am a foreigner I can experience a tour the way our customers do. That way I get the real experience without any VIP treatment. I check on the sites, hotels, restaurants, and guides to ensure that they all meet our rigid quality guidelines.




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.154s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 12; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0623s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb