Suzhou, China


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangsu » Suzhou
July 16th 2011
Published: July 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Humble Administrator's GardenHumble Administrator's GardenHumble Administrator's Garden

My best shot in China!
On Friday July 8th, 2011 I left Shanghai for my new work destination, Suzhou. It was very hard to leave behind the great new friends that I made but I managed to do it. I took the speed train which went over 200 miles an hour. I got dizzy just from looking out the window.

At first, I really didn’t like the city. It was too quiet. Truth be told, I did a little cry once I realized how alone I was when I got to my hotel. I had friends around me constantly then to suddenly be alone in a new country was hard, at least at first.

I technically live in what’s called SIP or Suzhou Industrial Park. Yeah, it’s an ugly name but it’s actually pretty nice. I am a short walk from a beautiful boardwalk. I sit by the water and listen to the little waves from the lake come crashing ashore. After that I walk down towards Moon Harbor, which is kind of like Vegas meets Venice.

The actual city of Suzhou is beautiful in bits. It’s not a constant beauty like what the ads imply. In fact, the city is so different than what is depicted. It's far more modern than they lead you to believe. I wanted Suzhou to be more authentic than Shanghai but what I got was the opposite, at least on my side of town. Nevertheless, I like the area that I live and work in.

I love my new work. I work for Disney English, which is of course run by the Walt Disney company, and is what you think it is, an English learning school. My particular job is to run the Summer Camp which includes art, music and drama. The people there are great and I can't wait to have a class of my own in 1 week. But for right now I am only subbing and basically selling my classes.

On the tourism side, I have not yet seen Tiger Hill so that will be next on my Suzhou “to do” list. I plan on saving that for when my first visitor arrives. Hopefully that’ll be sometime next week.

Okay, that about does it! Below are various pictures throughout Suzhou and Suzhou Industrial Park.



Additional photos below
Photos: 38, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Garden DetailGarden Detail
Garden Detail

My best detail shot
SIP at nightSIP at night
SIP at night

A little Venice


Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0375s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb