First Full Day!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangsu » Nanjing
November 23rd 2008
Published: November 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Bedside ConsolBedside ConsolBedside Consol

The lights were on when I first came into the room, and I couldn't figure out how to shut them off. Then I found the consol. Along with the consol is the emergency flashlight. Is that standard? Why?
So here I am off in Nanjing. We got in last night, about 9 pm (their time) on Saturday. It was good to see all everyone. Flights and travel was uneventful--just how I like it! The only challenge was in Beijing, I had to transfer to get on a local flight all by myself! I just about messed this up in Denver, so I was a little timid. I asked the shuttle bus guy, "To China South (my airline--fairly well known)." He said "Two." Hmmm..."China South?" "Two." I was getting nowhere, so I got on--I would be going somewhere. Ten minutes later, I was at terminal 2 and found China South. I met up with Ming (grad student), Jill (grad student), and Andrea (teacher originally from Scotland, love the accent). Lynn (PU prof) we met at the gate--Wow, we did it; we all made it into Beijing! Though I will say, the security screeners are a whole lot more adventurous here than in the US. I had some lotion, and it (or something else) went off the alarms. The guy went through my bag, when he found it. He opened it, stuck it right next to his nose and inhaled. Interesting!
Dog Park?Dog Park?Dog Park?

This is near the market
No wafting technique, no swab--just a sniff. Apparently it was okay, he gave it back to me. What a brave soul. From Beijing we went to Nanjing and met the prof we'll be working with for the first week. Once we had our hotel rooms, we all just crashed.

Today, I was up ready to work out...turns out the gym is only open from 10am-10pm 😞. So we ate instead and then toured around our hotel. There was a market across the street. At the entrance to the market, there was a tent set up with a gal on stage and people standing around her listening. I thought, "Oh, a cooking demo--how fun!" Isn't that what they always do in markets? Nope--not here. Pretty cool they were actually teaching people how to multiple double-digit numbers!! Informal education at its best. Check out the photos!

Even though our gym was closed, we did find a recreation area nearby. It was pretty interesting, and we played quite a bit. As we were out and about, I was quite surprised people didn't stare a whole lot. When I travel in Central America, people stare a lot. Here, not so much. And
At the Dog ParkAt the Dog ParkAt the Dog Park

Hmmm...perhaps I don't understand
speaking of Central America and speaking, I have this reflex that when I am having difficulty speaking with someone, I just speak in Spanish--doesn't help here! Maybe I'll break that someday. We're leaving tomorrow for the education institute, and we found out that it's not 50 students and 100+ teachers we'll be teaching. It will actually be (or by latest count), 50 students and 200+ teachers. So, instead of us teaching inquiry in the classroom, I think it might actually be: inquiry in the lecture hall or gymnasium. I'm flexible as is, and I will be Tai Chi-ing tonight so I'll be even more ready!





Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Ping Pong Everywhere!Ping Pong Everywhere!
Ping Pong Everywhere!

My hotel in Jinan (2nd week of the trip) has an amazing Ping Pong Gym. I thought I would have to wait to play. This is right outside our hotel!
Let's LearnLet's Learn
Let's Learn

Here's the instructor teaching the local 2-digit multiplication! How neat!


24th November 2008

Wow..Animation
Their statues and pictures are so animated...i met its very interesting being in another part of the world..
24th November 2008

That's the Silver Surfer - version Oriental
Tai Chi, ping-pong, parks, tacos, and free whiffing of lotions...sounds more like a vacation than a study. LoL. But it looks like fun over there, can't wait to see it for myself. Is the smog as bad as they made it seem in the Olympics???

Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0191s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb