So The Journey Goes..


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangsu » Nanjing
February 23rd 2008
Published: February 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Waking up this morning was slightly out of the ordinary for me. Not only did I wake up at the strange hour of 4:30 am but I was getting ready for something I don’t think I can really prepare for. Today would be the day I feel like I have been waiting too long for, and in a matter of hours it would all take place. I would be flying on that jet plane I’ve been dreaming of; and in this dream that plane is heading around the world to Shanghai, China. True, in the past I was uncertain of my destination however now sitting here on the plane letting it slowly sink in of what I’m about to do, it suddenly makes so much sense.
Of course, this is how I feel at the current time, that being still on the plane and unaware of the cultural shock I’m sure I will endure once I step off this ‘safe guard’.

I think perhaps there needs to be a term for pre cultural shock, something to describe how this day has finally come to be and I’m not still dreaming of my travels.

Maybe I thought it would be harder to leave. I take that maybe back; of course I thought it would be harder to leave. Yet, it seemed to be the simplest natural process I can think of at this time. There is distinct clarity to this feeling of mine that I have not experienced before; which leads to me believe this is the way I should be heading. For some time leading up to the departure I thought somehow the universe itself would stop me from going, something would get in the way and change my plans. So far, so good, so I will let this adventure keep unfolding itself and try not to get in the way of it doing so.



Advertisement



23rd February 2008

I hope I say this right....
Pu ming bi??? hahaha just kidding i know you are having a great time, it's just that I'M not there so it's a little hard to understand how it can really be THAT much fun hahaha just kidding. Hope the jet lag doesn't kill you too much and that you have a great first week!! Miss you lots already...even though I already talked to you today but whatever :) Love Ya!!! Suze
23rd February 2008

Hey!
Hey Toby! Wow you actually did it! You actually defied your parents and made the trek across the world to China! Although its not Thailand, China's much better Im sure.. It must be nice to to be free now that you're travelling and teaching abroad.. Im surprised how easy you said it would be to get in and get around and meet people like that. Although my stomach wouldn't agree to the everyday food you'd be eating in China.. heh.. Wish you the best of luck and success in learning the different culture in China and the rich experiences that you are about to go through is wonderful. Keep in touch! Have fun! Andrew
25th February 2008

WOAH!!
Yeah!!!! i'm so excited for you!!! The dream has now become reality! woowoo! All the best in your new habitat!

Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0392s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb