Although you may not believe it...I'm still alive


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangsu » Nanjing
October 13th 2007
Published: October 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Zai Nanjing Wanshang de ShihouZai Nanjing Wanshang de ShihouZai Nanjing Wanshang de Shihou

Here's a view from Purple Mountain at night
Well, it's been a while since I've last sent news. I think the reason for that is quite simple...there really doesn't seem to be anything newsworthy on a day to day basis. However, when I think about the big picture (my living in China), life is actually quite exciting. Here's a quick bullet-point list of how things are going so far:
-I'm settling in quite nicely.
-My Chinese is slowly but surely improving.
-I have a large number of both Chinese and foreign friends.
-I now only teach 4 days a week. By December this should be down to 3 days a week.
-Chinese schools are bizarre. Rather than bells to signal the beginning and end of class, there is classical music. In the mornings they do large all-school dance routines for exercise. They also spend 10 minutes every day massaging their faces in what they call "eye-exercises."
-I will try and send out a list of my favorite English names that Chinese students have chosen. I will tell you this, Yummy and Deathknight are probably at the top of the list.
-The washer in my apartment broke and the school bought me a new one that is too large for
Zhongshan LuZhongshan LuZhongshan Lu

This is a street corner
the space. So there are currently five Chinese men in my bathroom installing my new washer in my shower. On that note, I'll throw in a joke: How many Chinese people does it take screw in a lightbulb? Five. One to screw it in and four to stand around at the base of the ladder arguing about how to do it and waiting for their turn to try. ..........I just made that one up by the way.
-Chinese pop music is not very good.
-There are a lot more clubs than bars in this city.
-I joined a gym. It's really really really nice.
-Seven of my classes got canceled this week due to exams, so I only taught for 2 days.
-Last week I had a week's vacation.
-I took a trip to Shanghai with some other Americans. I spent a very large portion of my salary in the 5 days that I was there. Shanghai is too big and expensive. It really makes me appreciate Nanjing. In Shanghai there are a lot of foreign tourists, while in Nanjing all of the foreigners live here. Consequently, there are many people in Shanghai who make a living ripping off tourists.
Nanjing Yi ZhongNanjing Yi ZhongNanjing Yi Zhong

Here are some students at my school filing back to class after an assembly.
In Nanjing, on the other hand, people don't really know how to rip you off. Also, it's funny that I can come back to a city of 5-8 million people after going to Shanghai and feel like I'm in a small town. I've been to huge cities before (New York, LA, Mexico City, Rio de Janeiro, Sao Paulo, Buenos Aires, Lima,...) but never has a city felt as large as Shanghai. I think that it's because of the way that they build Chinese cities. People here live in apartments rather than houses. As a result, the cities are made up entirely of expanses of giant apartment complexes. Also, the tall buildings are spread out (unlike in the US where they are all in the downtown area), so you always feel like you're downtown.
-Living in a Chinese city, I sometimes get the feeling that I'm indoors even when I'm outside.
-I've learned that there is no difference between the public and the private sectors of the Chinese economy or in Chinese life for that matter. It's odd.
-I really like living here. I will like it even more when my Chinese gets good.
-I love getting news from home, so
DitieDitieDitie

This is the brand new subway that is only a year old
send me a message. Yes! I do get your messages when you send them to me on this blog site. You can also email me.

I'll try to post some pictures soon. I'm off to teach a bunch of rambunctious 17-year-olds.




Much love,
Mike


Advertisement



13th October 2007

Canola Oil
Maybe you should realize that as far as Oils go, Canola Oil is the healthiest.
14th October 2007

Significa que ya se te pasó el choque cultural... bacán ¿y que pasó con eso de la fase depresiva¿será cierto. Espero que la próxima vez hables un poco más sobre tus clases, talvez una anécdota o algo por el estilo. Cariños, Luz
14th October 2007

Classical Music Ey?
Just thought i'd leave a comment and say hey. This is actually the first time that i've had the chance to read your blog...Sorry. The Aussie Snow season has now finished and i'm off to Tahoe in 2 months! yay. Maybe the Classical music is why the Chinese kids always seem so calm and collected.
22nd October 2007

Chinese pop music
I'm betting that with time you'll become a fan of Chinese pop music. It seems like an inevitable adjustment for you, similar to the ease with which you make friends and pick up the language. So what is the Purple Mountain? And are the buildings shown next to the students in the picture part of your school?
25th October 2007

Eye think so!
Do those eye exercises give them special powers? And if so, how exactly do you do them?

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.039s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb