Bao On Jin


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Henan » Zhengzhou
August 8th 2010
Published: August 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

It is 5 a.m. and I am writing in semi-darkness. Bao is still asleep and has been so since 5 yesterday. Today is the day. Am trying not to have too big of an expectation regarding the much anticipated first meeting of Bao and Jin. Yesterday at the airport while waiting for flights/bags/etc., I tried to talk to Bao about getting a brother. I asked him what he will do when he sees him. I said that Jin is waiting for Bao. Bao said "Hit Jin", swatting at the air in front of him. Then I asked him what he will say when he sees him, and he said "Sorry" which means that he is still planning on the hitting. Then someone else asked Bao about getting a brother, and he said "Go away Jin" and "Go away." Therefore, based upon this information, I have to seriously adjust my fantasy of them running into each others arms as in slow motion in movies as if they are, well, long lost brothers. At this point, I will just be happy if there is no physical assault. In just 4.5 hours, we will get Jin.

Advertisement



8th August 2010

So Happy
I hope you enjoy every moment! I can't wait to hear about your first meeting with Jin!
9th August 2010

It will all work out. Have faith. Bao will regress, be jealous, be afraid you are replacing him, but it will all work out. He may even hit Jin a few times. But he will also play with him and laugh with him and learn to love him.
9th August 2010

Waiting for Jin
I have been following your travel logs like some story being told by Garrison Keiller (if he were telling stories about how 3 become 4 and finding himself far from Lake Woebegone). He builds it with these powerfully simply descriptions for which you don't know until the end of the sentence whether you will shed a tear or burst out laughing or nod your head in agreement or wonderment. I can see your images, hear the sounds and smell the scents so clearly in my mind. You will be amazed, distressed or both but just go with the flow. And if it is really bad, you do what historians do sometimes and re-write history later. Just kidding. Bao and Jin may not fall into each other's arm like long lost brothers but they are long lost brothers. In time (could be 10 minutes, 10 months, 10 years), they will fall into each other's arms and learn from each other and lean on each other. That is is the gift they will receive today and that they will begin to slowly unwrap today for the rest of their lives.
9th August 2010

Thank you for sharing your adventures
Just heard about the landslide in China. My heart goes out to China and I hope you are all safe and still able to "get Jin," today. Thank you for sharing your adventures with all of us! I am exciting to hear the story of your first in person meeting with Jin.

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0567s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb