The Farm Next Door


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Hebei » Tangshan » Zunhua
September 4th 2012
Published: September 4th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I've mentioned the farm next to the school before, but in case you missed it, there is a farm next to the school (ie this is a pretty country place.)

As I was enjoying my pork and green beans at lunch, my co-worker informed me that all the food I was eating had come from the school's farm. So it turns out that the school owns the farm next door, and uses it to supply food for the cafeteria. My co-worker also told me that the farm is "eco-friendly," but I'm not exactly sure what that means in China. This means that most of the vegetables I'm eating, and most of the meat too, are really fresh and local. The school also gives us fruit every week, but I'm not entirely convinced that they are growing oranges and bananas. I think they might be getting those from somewhere else.

I'm a really big supporter of local produce and sustainable agriculture, so it was nice to find out that the my school is feeding me with food that they've grown themselves. However, it doesn't make me feel better about the smell.

Advertisement



4th September 2012

farm smells
That sounds like a really good thing to me.
4th September 2012

Nice to know about the farm and the food you are eating.

Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.109s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb