At the terrace


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangxi » Longsheng » Pingan
January 30th 2007
Published: January 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Yao woman and meYao woman and meYao woman and me

in front of terraced fields
Hi All!
I've been here at Longji Terrace for a couple days, walking around in the terraced rice fields, staying in a wooden building, built post and beam... Uh oh, my massage appointment is here... gotta go...
AAAAHHHHH... That was very nice, now it is hard to be online and not sleeping , so this will be brief. Made my way around yesterday and today in thesee fields and villages, and will head out tomorrow to Guilin, then Nanning the following day to check out the sugar cane pulp product factory near there.
The stay here has been fun... good food, nice people, though a bit aggressive on the selling of their stuff. Great weather, too. A few clouds today, but nice and warm. The place I'm staying, run by a woman named Among, is very nice, I have a private room, little electric blanket heater, and they serve meals if I want them.
Anyway, brief post this time, but a few pics for you to look at. I have a couple stories from here, but they will have to wait...
Thanks for all the comments, they are great to get, so keep em coming!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Ping AnPing An
Ping An

Set in the fields
Dinner tonightDinner tonight
Dinner tonight

"Bamboo rice" was rice cooked in a bamboo piece, over an open fire, very good. The other dish is mixed local veggies
The typical houseThe typical house
The typical house

well, this one is new, but they are mostly built the same, timnber froma, wood panelled siding.
Afternoon friendsAfternoon friends
Afternoon friends

From Germany and Argentina. I ate lunch and walked with them this afternoon.
Terraced fieldsTerraced fields
Terraced fields

with wooded mountains in background. Not bad scenery!
More terraced fieldsMore terraced fields
More terraced fields

I have tons of these pics, and it's hard to tell the best ones as I choose them from the camera...


31st January 2007

glad you're safe
didn't see all these postings until today...they are so wonderful! you are looking like you're having lots of varied experiences and meeting some interesting people. i just shared all the photos with my friends from school; i love the terrraced fields. oh, and great hat! any photos of the factories? will you be sick of fish when you get home? rice? short people? (just kidding Sam) been a bit worried not getting the blogs; glad to know it was just a glitch in the system (what a surprise)...i enjoyed the various forms of transportation photos as well! love, bon.
31st January 2007

loopy
Banks-Awesome picks. Notice a beer hiding in several pics. Your customers are starting to wonder what kind of business trip your on. Loopy running smoothly...nothing to worry about. Alsmost out of stock of everything, but don't worry we'll all get by. JC
31st January 2007

hi!
hehe....you're like twice as tall as that lady...:) it's nice to hear from you! that place looks like it'd be interesting to live at. it seems like those fields go on forever! see you! miss you! hope you're having fun. love, ha!ley
31st January 2007

That poor little yao massage therapist only gave you a foot and leg rub because THAT'S ALL SHE COULD REACH!
31st January 2007

Glad you're caught up!
The first factory would not allow pics. The next one I will be at either tomorrow night or Friday. Hopefully I can take pics. I will be staying there at the factory. I'm mostly only tired of "HALLO!!!" as I walk around...
31st January 2007

Back to work tomorrow
Joel, rest assured that I will stop this vacation nonsense, and get down to business tomorrow at 3:34pm when I arrive in Nanning. I will be staying one or two nights at the factory and checking it out, and hopefully going to the sugar cane farms, too. The product full cycle research begins... If it is sunny and nice, I will wear extra clothing so I am uncomfortable, and completely un-vacation like. Hopefully it will rain and I will be miserable, suffering through the research for my customers!
31st January 2007

They are a little shorter than me...
But you're right, Hailey, it would be fun to live here. A lot of work, though. Even though it is now very tourist oriented, the villagers still work the fields, and it is very hard. Imagine climbing around, hoeing all the fields, carrying things up and down the terraces, etc. No tractors or plows here, it's all done by hand. Miss you too!
31st January 2007

HA HA
You're right about that! But it still felt good!
1st February 2007

Great shots!
Hi Dale, I'm loving all of the beautiful photos... Keep them coming. The shots of the river were great, and I like the street scenes, too. It's interesting to look at all of the things going on in the background such as the kinds of vehicles, what people are wearing, the condition of the buildings, etc. Sorry to hear you have to get down to business today after all of the vacationing...guess you have to do something to get that tax write off! Keep those pictures coming and think like I do, "future Christmas gifts, birthday gifts, etc!" : ) Have fun! love, can

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0693s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb