Only in China - do people smoke at the gym


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong
April 13th 2008
Published: April 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Sorry for taking such a long break from writing to you. Do not think that I have neglected you. Nor have I fallen of the face of the Earth. I am still alive and kicking!

Since my return from my winter vacation trip I have become slightly lazy when it comes to work. Nonetheless you need not worry! I still show up to work and show off my white face to the crowds in order to make it the well established second most expensive private liberal arts college in China - United "International" College, where the students can interact with and experience the lo wai/gwei lo (Mandarin/Cantonese = foreigner/literal translation=white ghost).

I had a great time on my birthday! Had 20 friends come out for Indian food and then we headed out to jo ba jie (bar street) and rocked the night away at Club 88 - by far the best one in Zhuhai, and always fun (I am there every weekend!). So now, I am officially OLD! I also went to Macau for the day and bought myself some Milka chocolate with hazelnuts for my bday😊 Though I will have to be honest... It does not compare with
My bdayMy bdayMy bday

I got 3 cakes!
Firklover chocolate!

Many thanks to Bobbe who was kind enough to send me Tartex all the way from Sweden. I have been able to spice up my diet from PB&H (peanut butter and honey) sandwiches to Tartex sandwiches!

Where is the Cheese?!? I can't wait to get a hold on a 500gr' block of cheese and just bite into it and feel heaven on the tips of my tongue! Nor shall I forget to mention hummus! I have already made my requests that there be at least 2 KG of hummus and 30 pitas when I get home:-)

I have booked my flight home and will arrive the 2nd week of July back in the States. I also managed to get a week off from work and will travel to Hangzhou and Shanghai May 9th -17th. Hangzhou is considered to be the heaven of China with a pretty lake where the emperors would retreat to. And of course Shanghai is the Big Apple of China.

Today was the second time I had to ask someone at the gym to not smoke. Is it just me or does smoking and working out simultaneously contradict each other? I for one cannot stand the smell and definitely not while lifting weights. I also drank my first milk in China since arriving here... (- a bowl of cereal in Beijing) and besides it being 3% fat it tasted really odd!

I wonder how it will feel when I am back not eating with chopsticks?!? I like using chopsticks but how does one eat steak with chopsticks? Or dip his pita with hummus?

PS- I should hear back from Goteborg Universitet by April 17th. THIS WEEK!!!

Lots of love,
me!

and I have attached some random pictures for your leisure.

only in china will ppl smoke at the gym


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0653s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb