The Challenge of Teaching English in China


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Shunde
June 21st 2008
Published: June 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Creative Lesson PlansCreative Lesson PlansCreative Lesson Plans

Trying to get them to open up and not be so shy is one of the greatest challenges.
I came to China to join my husband who was working here as a general manager, and wasn't sure about the teaching opportunities. Being in an area that has few foreigners, in fact I know of no other Americans here in this city, my first priority was to just get acclimated to my new location in a new culture where I did not speak the language. After several months I was asked to teach for a language company in a school nearby. Naively I said yes, but after only 2 days decided that this was not for me. The class size alone is intimidating as 60 elementary kids are crowded in a room. I found it hard to keep there attention and to talk over them. For some this is not a problem, but for me I am more comfortable with small groups or one-to-one. I eventually came to find a learning center called Global Community English just right down the street from where I live,that tutors adults and children of all ages in the English language or in Chinese. I found I enjoy teaching in this setting much more than the large classroom size. My time can be more flexible
What's in a NameWhat's in a NameWhat's in a Name

Chinese can sure pick some interesting English names. Here's twin brothers Cat & Mouse.
than following the school calendar as well. I feel that the learning opportunities are greater as more indiviual attention can be given to each student. Here are just a few photos from a Saturday class that I did with a theme on cooking and making snacks together. It was a fun time!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Christmas Songs in JuneChristmas Songs in June
Christmas Songs in June

Reading English seems to be much easier for them. Singing a song make it fun.
Reindeer FaceReindeer Face
Reindeer Face

Learning to use their creative abilities.
Learning About FoodLearning About Food
Learning About Food

These kids had never eaten peanut butter.
A Great AssistantA Great Assistant
A Great Assistant

Having a good assistant that can translate makes a big difference. Here's Francis.
Chef DreamChef Dream
Chef Dream

Dream proudly shows off her new chef hat.


Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb