Shenzhen, China


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Shenzhen
June 11th 2010
Published: June 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Calgary to Shenzhen


ShenzhenShenzhenShenzhen

View from Binnson's relatives apartment in Shenzhen
Well day 1 in China has been fairly low key. After discussing how we were going to go about our trip in China with Binnson's relatives and watching their maid hand wash my underwear on the balcony (...awkward...) we were off for lunch. We hit up this very nice dim sum place where a local Chinese actor was sitting at the table beside us. Not bad for my first meal in China. Afterwards, we went downtown so Binnson could get a new fobby haircut. We then ended up at a big shopping mall and got what seem to be good hiking sandals for 258 RMB (~50 CND for both pairs). Cheapy cheapy.

What I have learned so far:
1. All my chinese lessons were a waste of time. I understand nothing.
2. The rules of the road are that there are no rules. Pedestrians and cyclists beware - there is no such thing as yielding. That includes to other vehicles. A half inch parameter on any side of the car is more than enough room to squeeze in between any cars in any situation. If you want in a lane that another car right beside you is in, you just drive into it and the other car slows down or moves into the other lane. Signal lights and lane markers are just for show. No one uses them. Also, if you are in the bigger vehicle - you win. We sat in the backseat of the car cringing as our expert driver, Yoyo, weaved through the traffic like a pro. Despite all this - there doesn't seem to be any car accidents on the roads...
3. I am glad I changed my mind about Binnson renting a car.




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Our digs in ShenzhenOur digs in Shenzhen
Our digs in Shenzhen

Clear kitchen walls
Our roomOur room
Our room

Binnson's relative works at Hasbro so there are lots of toys in the house!


11th June 2010

I enjoyed your China post about the traffic, etc. I have heard that about China! That seems to be the case in all Asian countries I've been to! My blog is looking for travel reviews, photos, etc, to share. If you have the time, check it out at dirty-hippies.blogspot.com, or email me at dirtyhippiesblog@gmail.com. Continued fun on your travels! Heather :)
11th June 2010

Love this!!
I love these blogs so far, keep them coming!! I laughed so hard about the underwear thing! Sounds like you're having a blast.

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0357s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb