I made it.


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Shenzhen
January 20th 2004
Published: January 20th 2004
Edit Blog Post

Drinking Bubble TeaDrinking Bubble TeaDrinking Bubble Tea

With Brendon in Shanghai

My eyes were sore, I couldnt move my back, but I was determined to finish the book 'Bringing down the house' written by one of the MIT students who killed Vegas by card counting.

It hasnt been long since the cold darkness of the atmosphere above the North Pole was broken up by the first rays of lights 35000 feet above the ground. Flying over the pole made my body clock stop, but my relief was great when I got to the last pages of the novel I started reading 11 hours earlier. Five more hours and we would be in Hong Kong.

The touch-down was a little 'sketchy' due to the thick layer of low-lying clouds and associated turbulances, but the modern and trendy airport made up for everything. It was 6:15pm local time. By 9pm I was meeting Rick at the Huang Gong border station after having taken a shuttle bus. It was 8 C combined with a little rain and wind all of which quickly made us get into taxi and head to Rick's apartment in the Futian district. Rick's mom was already waiting us with a big smile and with steaming delicious home made dumplings. Rick made the moment of our reunion memorable by opening a bottle special edition (XO) French cognac and imported beer. Despite the fact that I havent slept for a good 48 hours, we decided to go for a little walk around the neighbourhood and we ended up in one of Shenzhen's computer room dives.

So far (like 5 hours) SZ has been a great city to me mostly chacterized by spread out real estate planning and roads with 6 lanes each way.

To be continued...



Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0666s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb