Donkey Friends


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Shenzhen
September 23rd 2008
Published: September 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

It's been awhile

There's a typhoon coming! A typhoon! Doesn't that sound much more exciting than big rain storm with wind?

I was looking for hostels for a potential trip to Hunan (type in Zhangjiajie or Wulingyuan into google images to look at where I'm going - hopefully, if we get our passports back - for National Day break. We have a week off but because of the holiday we have to work Saturday and Sunday! It feels like so much less of a break when they take away your weekend! Check out the description for one of the hostels under services and reception:

"The culmination international youth hotel has provided comfortable luxurious, the honeymoon as well as the family anteroom for the donkey friends, simultaneously has also provided during neat, the simple and elegant standard for the back person who hires a prostitute, and the multi-worlds and so on many kinds. The hotel facility is complete, helps oneself washes clothes, the self-service kitchen, the Internet bar, the book shed, the parking lot, CD to engrave records, the personal safe cabinet, the goods to check, the text printing, the bicycle to rent, wireless network turning on, the home and the international call, the bar is momentarily open for the donkey friend; The bathroom 24 hours provide the hot water; The hotel provides the ticket clerk the service and the peripheral traveling consultation."

No wonder my English skills are in such high demand...I think I should just hire myself out to hotels and advertising agencies to fix their blurbs, because they're atrocious. And hilarious 😊

Speaking of natural English skills that I could cash in on big time...I went to get my voice recorded for an English text book on Saturday! It was basically an audition to see if they liked they way my voice sounded on tape. They were like, "You have a bright voice, but after you talk for a while it gets a little low. Try to talk more like a little girl." It was a lot harder than I expected! If they decide to hire me, they'll pay me 300k an hour!! That would be so helpful for traveling! The recording center was at the Shenzhen Animation Center in Luohu, which was really cool. I hope I get to go back!

Other news...my internet is finally fixed, so Skype dates are now
All You Can EatAll You Can EatAll You Can Eat

Kiki's birthday at Sekou, in Nanshan. The area is called Seaworld in English...I was expecting Free Willy and got Papa John's, a cruise ship, and more fried ice cream than I could ever eat. I wanted more of those fried bananas and french toast, though...
possible! Let me know!

I'm teaching the kids about greetings this week. When you ask them how they are, they respond with the pre-programmed, "I'm well, thank you, and you?" So I'm teaching them never to say "so so," to say hey, what's up, what's going on, etc, and then body language to go with it. They love the fist pound and high five! For goodbye, they don't understand why we say "peace," or they might have just not known what the word meant. Either way, classes are fine.

I think I'm finally slowing down-- you can only live off of China's frenetic energy for so long before it exhausts you. Kiki's birthday was this weekend so we ventured across the city to Nanshan, the expat haven, and went to an all you can eat Japanese restaurant. You can order anything off the menu, including alcohol, for 150 k...about $25. We probably ordered 15 bottles of wine. Despite terrible service (you never got anything you ordered, it ended up at one of the other tables), it was a great time as was the club we went to afterwards. We stayed at Shedisha's so of course I got no
Some of my favsSome of my favsSome of my favs

Kofi, Kiki, Danny
sleep and I still haven't recovered...I'm so tired! Nanshan was cool though...at Windows of the World, an amusement park, there's a "European Alps Style Bar Street" and an indoor ski area!! I'm so excited to go!!

Alright back people I'll talk to you soon!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Green peppers, olives and mushroomsGreen peppers, olives and mushrooms
Green peppers, olives and mushrooms

Everybody needs a little pizza now and then, especially after a long weekend.
KaraokeKaraoke
Karaoke

Kiki's contact teacher and some of the English teachers from her school took us out Sunday night for karaoke with their families. They were so cute!


Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.08s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb