The Writers' Mecca: The Guangzhou Library


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Guangzhou
January 9th 2017
Published: January 28th 2017
Edit Blog Post

As a writer by choice, libraries have always held a special place in my heart. I could not resist the chance to visit the Guangzhou Library. It was an impressive structure to say the less about this “Mecca” of literature I was able to witness. With 10 floors separated into two towers with a central elevator and escalator system, it was a work of art for me. Unfortunately during my visit, I could only enter the North Tower since the South Tower was closed for the evening. I was also only allowed to go up to the 7thfloor because of the time of my visit. I will state the fact that this library never closes fully, running the small section of 7 floors of just the North tower 24 hours a day except for holidays.



This did nothing to dissuade my visiting it as I was there already researching what time the Guangdong Museum and the Guangzhou Library would be open for a future visit. Discovering it open was a stroke of luck in my favor that I could not ignore. I was only planning to take a quick peek and returning within a day or two to explore it fully but I was too taken by it at first sight. I slowly made my way from floor to floor taking photos of the North side building and glimpses of the South building from the landings. As far as libraries went, I had to admit that it was simply normal on the North side but the few glimpses of the South side showed more impressive sections I rarely find in some of the best academic libraries of my hometown (which isn’t truly saying much).



The bottom floor had many art objects and reference screen to learn about Guangzhou and the history of the library itself. Even at such late an hour, the place still had many people present but I am thinking that most would be University students doing a few final minutes of research on a project or homework. Like most libraries, silence is a golden rule from the visitors but soft music played through the place giving it a more relaxed mood than the deafening silence. I felt this would not be the case considering how many people were still moving around and working well after sunset. It was this aspect that truly had me feeling like I had entered a “writers’ cathedral” and not just a simple library. A place that part of me actually wanted to stop taking photos within out of respect but could not stop myself since this was “a part of my spiritual belief” that needed to be seen by everyone.


Additional photos below
Photos: 50, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 9; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0338s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb