Well, They Let Me In


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Guangzhou
September 4th 2013
Published: September 5th 2013
Edit Blog Post

It never felt real to me before I set off. The enormity of what I was about to undertake didn’t fully hit me, I still don’t think it has, and even as I got into the car it just felt like I was going on holiday, or back to university (which I was in a way). Yet 15000km, 25 hours, 2 flights and one £8 pint later there I was at the immigration desk in Guangzhou Baiyun International Airport, hoping that I hadn’t gone wrong on my visa form, that all the numbers matched, that I’d done everything I had to do.

I had the same feeling that had hounded me at every step along the way, the feeling that I had done something wrong, I wasn’t supposed to be there, it had all just been one big mistake and now it was time to go home. Despite this, after my visa was checked, my admission notice scrutinised and the repeated flicking of eyes between my face and my passport photo I finally got the nod. I was in.

I got in, I’m here, and I’m spending 11 months in China. I’m very well aware that I’ve just written about nothing happening but this was just to see if I could manage to write.



Jack

Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0354s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb