Happy start of the new year!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Guangzhou
January 20th 2007
Published: January 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hey you amazing people!
I hope you've had a good start of the new year 😊 I have!

I worked my last day at EF this past Wednesday - with mixed feelings. Am still happy about my decision to move on to something more related to my career. On the other hand I've really enjoyed teaching as well as the atmosphere at work; my colleagues and students. Wednesday evening after my class, all my Small Star students (the really young ones) were invited to a goodbye party. I got drawings, cute gifts, flowers and lots of hugs and kisses! Was a really nice wrap up of my time at the school.

I've been keeping up the internship on Tuesdays and Thursdays, with some breaks when Lina and Thomas and then Annika and Johan visited me. I'm still learning a lot! Yesterday we threw a media gathering for Intel, in order for them to show their appreciation towards the reporters and their coverage during the past year. It was fun, relaxed and turned out really well. The 40 invited media had dinner and played games; winning nice prices - one of them being a 2 hour session of private
The Ogilvy teamThe Ogilvy teamThe Ogilvy team

My colleagues at Ogilvy, before the media gathering! :)
English teaching by a "beautiful Swede". The idea was that a young male reporter should have won the price, so it didn't fall out all that great when the only man over 60 in the room turned out to be the winner... hahaha!

Since I last wrote Annika and Johan have visitied me. But before that we have Christmas. I worked Christmas eve, 9am till 6pm, which actually wasn't that weird since I had no real Christmas feeling anyways. And my students cheered the day up, by giving me a huge Pooh and lots of chocolate 😊 Went to Lily's house for dinner after work; delicious hot pot! Christmas day was the real Christmas for me! I spent it at Carmen's house with mainly EF teachers, from lunch time till evening. Everyone brought their Christmas food and gift, and it turned out to be a really nice day!

A few days after Christmas, Annika and Johan arrived to Guangzhou. I was so excited; waiting at the airport - like a child waiting for Santa - hehe. We had really nice days together; with touring in Guangzhou, shopping, great food, massage, movies, and chit chat catching up. They spent
Annika and JohanAnnika and JohanAnnika and Johan

Beijing Road in Guangzhou
two weeks in China, also visiting Beijing and Hong Kong. We celebrated New Years here in Guangzhou. Dinner at the Italian with Carmen, her boyfriend and brother; off to Carmen's to celebrate with the EF teachers; then to Cave Bar - to party all night long! 😊

I've now formally been accepted to the University and start my Chinese studies on March 5th. Till then I'm gonna take some holiday; then start helping my dad with his company, continue my internship and prepare for my Chinese course! University finishes in the end of June/beginning of July. After that I'll come home for at least a month. Then probably back here again, for another 6 months, 1 year... I don't know yet.

How are things in Sweeeeden and all other parts of the world?

I miss you loads!
Love and kisses,
Emma


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Carmen and I on New YearsCarmen and I on New Years
Carmen and I on New Years

Dinner at the Italian
Happy New Year!!!Happy New Year!!!
Happy New Year!!!

At Carmen's for New Years
Annika and IAnnika and I
Annika and I

New Year Party!!!


23rd January 2007

hej!
Tack för tröjan, skivorna och dom bacon liknande sakerna!! :'D Tröjan är verkligen jätte skön, har haft den på mig nu i två dagar! nu ska jag hoppa in i bastun! vi ses snart!! kram kram :)
25th January 2007

Hej älskade sötnos.. Hur mår du? Du verkar ha det så bra och trivas där nere.. men jag räknade ju med att få dig boende hos mig till hösten.. ;) Har skrivit här ett par gånger, men det verkar inte ha kommit med.. och skype har jag fått igång men du är aldrig uppkopplad när jag är där.. Försöker ringa dig på mobilen nån dag.. Jag saknar dig massor, och är inställd på kinaresa i april/maj/juni nån gång..? Om det passar dig.. :P Du är bäst! Hade behövt min emsis hos mig.. Älskar dig! Puss o kram.
29th January 2007

Varma kramar
Hej min älskade dotter!! Härligt att läsa din dagbok om jobb, utbildning och vänner på besök! Tack för alla fina presenter! I Sverige är det som vanligt omväxlande kallt, snö och så kommer regnet och sköljer bort det vackra vita landskapet igen. Solen skiner i alla fall idag! Snart kommer Anton och jag äntligen på besök till dig, VI LÄNGTAR!!! Puss och kram från Mamma

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0403s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb