Dalian Spring Festival Celebration


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Dongbei » Dalian
February 5th 2011
Published: February 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Shanghai to Dalian


New Years DinnerNew Years DinnerNew Years Dinner

Shengjie's Dads side of the family at their apartment.
Today is my last full day in Dalian. Tomorrow I will fly back to Shanghai in the evening. I have had a good time here with Shengjie’s family. Communication was a little difficult at times but I understood how to communicate the essentials such as sleep, eat and bathroom.
The family was very welcoming and made sure to keep me full. I have not been hungry since I arrived. On the second of February we stayed up until 1:00am to bring in the lunar calendar New Year. There were fireworks going off all over the city for this is the biggest legal holiday celebrated in China.
On Friday we went to see Dalian’s fireworks show which was very impressive. The Chinese know how to organize a show. Shengjie’s mom and I took a photo with a rabbit because we were born in a rabbit year. According to the Chinese zodiac, this is the beginning of the year of the rabbit.
Today we plan to see more family and I am not sure what else we will do. We cannot communicate the schedule very easily so I just go with the flow.
Heath Swindler



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

New Years FireworksNew Years Fireworks
New Years Fireworks

These are personal fireworks shot by local Chinese People.
FireworksFireworks
Fireworks

Just outside their apartment building.
LunchLunch
Lunch

Meal with Shengjie's Moms Family
DalianDalian
Dalian

Shengjie's parents own an apartment in the center building. We watched the fireworks show from there.


6th February 2011

Lights
Well, this city is sure well lit, kinda reminds me of the Dallas area.
6th February 2011

Thanks for the photos
Loved seeing the pictures and reading your entries. Thanks Aunt Susan

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0458s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb