Hat Day


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Dongbei » Dalian
March 12th 2006
Published: March 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well, I decided to wear a hat to class today. I'm not talking about a baseball cap or anything, I'm talking about the winter cap I wear outside all the time. Just having a normal bad hair day and don't want to take it off. Actually talking from a fashion perspective it doesn't really look that bad. I don't even know if I got any reaction at all from it in my first K8 class just now but then I had them get into pairs and do some work on "Why is your teacher wearing a hat?" and I got some crazy responses, ones that you wouldn't normally expect. "I think today is a special day in America." "Darby broke her head." "Darby broke her hair." (At which I stopped the class and asked them if that were possible - they laughed and I told them the only way to do that would be to freeze my hair and then break it.) "It's cold outside." (Is it cold inside? I asked the class. No.) "She cut off all her hair." (Why do I have hair sticking out of the bottom of my hat? Because it's attached to the hat, the class answered.) "She's a beggar and uses it to collect money." (Got a few laughs from that one but most didn't believe it at all.) It was quite an interesting morning. Now I have four more classes to go like this - we'll just wait and see what people say. I think it's pretty amusing what people come up with when you let them. At least it helps me understand that they're still creative to some extent.

Yesterday Laura and Duncan had their house warming - they just moved into a new place with Adam and Markel. It looks like they've got a pretty good deal and will work really well living together. I wish I had more people living with me. I miss having my four good roommates like in college but as Dad said college is a once in a lifetime opportunity.

Speaking of my father his health hasn't been doing well recently but he's really excited to be having surgery. My sister and I are very worried about him even though we think the surgery might do a little bit of good. It was my sister's birthday on Wednesday (while we were having a huge party here so was she at home). On Tuesday it was Craig's birthday so on Wednesday night after classes we went to Wong's for dinner and then followed that up by going over to the Tibetan bar for a little while. Stone and I went over to get all the boys from L Salon and many of them got to meet him for the first time. I got a lot of interesting reactions out of them. For the most part they think he's really cool and that he likes me a lot. Hui and I sat down and had a pretty long conversation about him on Thursday - how he really likes me but he won't ask me out yet because he's a little nervous and that's how Chinese men are (according to Hui). We also talked about how Camillo is jealous of Stone and the opposite is also true but neither will ever admit it. Camillo told me he was very happy for me to finally have someone who likes me back and that he could never be jealous but his actions when he's around the two of us suggest that he's really jealous. I tried explaining to Stone that Camillo is my big brother like he's Michael's baby boy but I'm not sure he really understood me either.

After the L Salon boys got to the Tibetan bar I went home to drop my stuff off from school and then almost immediately we all went over to Alice's Bar. It's a bit of a strange place - there are girls that still dance on poles in their langerie (which is a bit strange for the Chinese culture). There's a live band that sings there and a small dance floor where people get up to dance. I got to see Stone dance for the first time which was a bit amusing. We had a lot of fun dancing around and talking to each other. Then finally most people left except for Stone, Kelvin, Craig, Cat and myself and so we all decided to walk over to one bar (which was closed) so we walked over and found one that we'd never been in before. We were being a bit crazy while we were walking (even though I'd had a total of two small glasses of beer). It was just nice to mess around and relax after so many classes.

Speaking of classes I've added a total of 15 hours of class outside of school so this coming week is going to be a little crazy. I currently don't have any days off at all. We'll just have to wait and see how long I last like that, I may have to give a class to one of my friends. I'm teaching 25 hours at Rockies and 15 hours outside so that makes for 40 hours spread out unevenly over 7 days of the week.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.039s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb