First Teaching at the Salon


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Dongbei » Dalian
November 30th 2005
Published: December 4th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Never know which side of the fencepost my relationship with Camillo will land on. The two sides are the "we're dating" and "we're really close friends" sides. Who knows what will end up happening. I think from my end of things they don't look too promising on the "we're dating" side but that's okay. Every day we become closer and closer and every day we understand each other a little bit more (although sometimes it seems like we're backtracking). Last night was a real ... interesting night. I went over to the Salon and neither Camillo nor his brother were there (nor were any customers). I just sat and started reading Harry Potter for a little bit and then Camillo came in and asked me if I was hungry. I kinda stumbled around the issue until I realized he wanted to go to dinner and then I decided to join him. It was a little bit of a quiet dinner, it was like he was a bit uncomfortable but not really so much. We talked about some things and he, as has been his usual, criticized me. I told him I didn't like bacon and he told me that I shouldn't be allowed to not like things.

Then we both went back to the Salon and he almost immediately asked me to teach the first class at the Salon. It was strange because he was setting it up and wasn't letting me do some things that I take for granted. For example he just wanted me to teach vocab, no sentences (which made it difficult because a third of the way through he told me to teach "What color is this?" and I knew at the beginning I should have been teaching that), he also had already written everything on the board which meant that I wasn't learning where they really were as a group nor which words they were having difficulties with (as I normally don't write everything up first but have them guess and teach them what they don't know). So it was a little backwards but we did end up working on some pronunciation and I think I taught some of them a little bit. I ended up teaching them how to say "ass" because they were all saying that instead of "ash" (one of the colors Camillo gave me to teach them). They enjoyed that. Camillo made some comment like "she's showing you her ass, just kick it next time" but he said it in Cantonese so it got a rise out of the boys and a "watch it boy" from me.

One of the boys then washed my hair and Camillo dryed it - making it look nice and wavy but telling me I should perm it afterwards. After that Camillo and I went back to his place and calmly studied and listened to music for a little bit. He changed into some comfortable pants right in front of me (something he's been petrified to do) and then had me translate Elvis Presley's "Love me Tender" which was interesting because he was blushing at it the whole time. Then he had me work with him on understanding the English for one of his management classes (which was definitely difficult because some of the English was over my head and forget trying to translate what I didn't know in English). Unfortunately one of the words he looked up was "relation" which eventually made me ask what our relationship was. The response I got was a little shocking to me, he blushed for a long time and wouldn't answer me until he finally said "we're good friends". Which was fine with me until he said "if you change some of your ideas then maybe we can be boyfriend and girlfriend." That really threw me for a loop and was definitely a response I was not expecting. I kinda threw a bit of a tantrum, complaining that he always tells me what I should and shouldn't change but never says that he should change or never accepts when I tell him to change. He said that he changes himself and has changed a bit of him for me. I've just never had someone say that to me so I really didn't know how to react. I suppose in the end it's not really a big deal. He told me that a true friend would never tell another friend that they're perfect because it's not true (which I suppose is always the case). I think the deal really is I don't feel comfortable pointing out anyone's bad side and he does. So I'm not sure where that leaves our relationship. I guess only time will tell that.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0232s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb