Who is he?


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Dongbei » Dalian
July 1st 2007
Published: July 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

I just went to buy a printer for the computer. It's 75$ for an HP printer, scanner and copier all in one and I'll be able to use it here and in the US. Right now I need to do a lot of printing and copying for the visa so it's important for now. If I copy and or print up to 500 things then I've already paid for the price of the printer so it's worth it. Anyways, I was at the shop buying it with Cam just now and afterwards I had to go pay for it and get the waranty put on it with one of the salesmen. When I was getting the warranty he asked me "So who was that just now, your student?" "He's my ..." I stopped mid-sentence. How to finish that sentence? Boyfriend? He doesn't like that term and has always said he's proud of the fact that we were never boyfriend and girlfriend, that we went from good friends to wife and husband. Husband? We're not married yet. Student? True but it's more than that. "Fiance" I finally responded. "Really? But he doesn't look American." "He's not." "Where's he from, Korea?" "No, he's from China." "Really? He doesn't look like he is." "He's from Hunan." "Oh." For some reason there's this big huge misconception that foreigners are never with Chinese and therefore as a Chinese person with a foreigner one always guesses you are from Korea or Japan or some other Asian country. Cam's gotten people ask him if he's from a wide range of countries besides China. It's one of the things he's used to by now.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.16s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0945s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb