Unparalleled Secrets of the World (1)


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Chongqing » Chongqing
June 4th 2020
Published: June 4th 2020
Edit Blog Post

In July 2015, it was my first time visiting Wulong, southeast of Chongqing, which left a deep impression on me. Even today, I can’t sleep when I think about the amazement and surprise brought by this world-class limestone landform.

In September 2017, when I had the urge to visit Wulong again, I flew there as soon as I could. I was looking forward to seeing the area once more because I was so impressed by my previous visit. My hopes were high due to the success of my first trip.



Wulong is similar to my hometown near the Wudang Mountains and the Shennongjia forestry district in Hubei, where wonder and beauty collide. Because you can crouch in the Tiankeng (pinyin writing meaning ‘sky hole’ or ‘heaven pit’, basically a gigantic, and I mean HUGE, hole in the ground), pass through the ground gaps, explore caves, listen to underground rivers and even ask about folk customs, witchcraft and curses, there are many possibilities available for the active explorer. These opportunities could bring you just as much excitement as visiting Easter Island, the Egyptian pyramids and even the Sanxingdui archaeological site in Sichuan.



Geologists say that the Tiankeng was formed by long-term erosion from water, which took about 2-2.3 million years. Around the Tiankeng, there were three to four rivers with very large resources of water. The water was very powerful, which helped form a huge vortex and at the same time contributed to a strong dissolution force. Because of the combination of erosion and collapse, the hole grew wider and deeper, which at last formed a unique Tiankeng community in Wulong.



When you finally see those canyons in person –at more than 2,300 meters long and 300-500 meters deep— would you still be impressed by the Norwegian Grand Canyon? Some people might say, ‘‘oh, come on, the Norwegian Grand Canyon is 1,000 meters deep!” However, if you were there, you would find more than 900 meters of that depth is taken up by water. The only thing you would see is the grassless hillside a few dozen meters above the water. You would feel completely cheated. How can people on the surface enjoy the scenery underwater?!

Tiankeng is quite different. You would feel like you’re looking into the center of the earth when you’re standing next to those steep barrel-shaped holes that are hundreds of meters deep. You can’t help but imagine how it was created!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.198s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1589s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb